A rock classic that I never lack when I travel.

in Rising Star Gamelast month

Screenshot_14.png

Good evening guys and girls, fans of good music, as the title of this post says, the song The House of the Rising Sun is a song that I never miss in the car every time I take a long trip, it is a song by the group The Animals, but do you know anything about this song? If you don't know, I'm going to find out for you.

The first thing you have to know is that this song written by Eric Burdon and company reached almost number 100 on Rolling Stone's list of the 500 best songs of all time. The lyrics of the song mention a house (the house of the rising sun) and where is the house in the song? Well, said house is located in New Orleans.

There are several recordings and the oldest of them is from 1933 by Clarence Ashley and Gwen Foster who gave it a folk and country touch.

There is another version in 1938 and in 1941 by Woody Guthrie but there is no end to the musicians Josh White, Libby Holman and the great Lead Belly and the list goes on with Jimi Hendrix, Bon Jovi, Jodi Miller, Glenn Yarbrough, Odetta , Scorpions, Gary Glitter, Bachman-Turner Overdrive, Tracy Chapman, Muse, Secret Tunes, The White Stripes, Declan Galbraith, Toto, Leslie West, Geordie, Sinead O'Connor, White Buffalo and many, many more, but I'm going to stop at the Bob Dylan version that appeared on his debut album

Well now that you know a little more about this great song I'm going to leave you with the one that I always listen to in the car or if I have a quiet moment at home.