A new round of Steem OG begins! Doing things a little differently this time...

in WeedCash Network3 years ago

This is my 3rd time growing the "Steem OG" strain, a hybrid of hybrids developed by this community before the Hive blockchain came along. And I'm going to be doing it a little differently, at least at the start...

Looks pretty normal so far, right? Nice and clean, low lighting, new soil. Pretty standard for a new crop.

But wait...

I decided to plant 3 seeds in each pot. I expect either 2 or 3 to sprout, and of those, approximately 2 will become healthy young seedlings within about 10 days. Then I can remove the weakest from each pot, and have 4 really strong little plants.

They're already in their adult pots. I can do this because I'm only doing 4 (the max in this little garden). And the reason I can do only 4 is because these are feminized seeds. Hopefully, anyway! I made them myself last year, using a hermaphroditic Steem OG plant.

So in theory, most or all of these seeds are female. That helps with the calculations!

A few days later, we have germination!

2 of the pots have 2 up, and the other 2 have 3 up.

This little sprout is already photosynthesizing, and starting to grow her first real leaf node (barely visible between the cotyledons). As a gardener, it's always a joy to see that green colour.

The Plan

Once I've got the 4 best possible plants, all female, I'm going to cut that down to just 2 when they reach full size (flowering). Normally I do about 4-6 plants in this little spot, but I'm going to do 2 this time, and hopefully let them get a bit bigger. Not taller, but wider. I will accomplish that with careful and intensive topping.

By Christmas I want 2 nice big trees for decorating! Or at least, for some really gorgeous photography.

Make sure you stay tuned to watch these Steem OGs go from seeds to plants to flowers, 200% organically - nothing but air, light, water, and organic soil!

Grow in peace.
DRutter

Sort:  

Steem OG can be pretty dank. Looking forward to this crop <3
!LUV
Make sure to keep them warm over the winter!

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@drutter, you've been given LUV from @hempy.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/1)

!LUV this new method! We should name them after our ancestors in spirit of the season.

Interesting. Would you do any ancestor names, or just female?

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@drutter, you've been given LUV from @medikatie.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/1)

The grow area looks very tidy and uniform, and the germinated seedlings look healthy as can be with that stout girthy appeal.

The topping plan sounds solid. If history is any indication of the future, you will be producing some very nice cannabis soon bro, looking good! :)

Nice that's awesome, I loved growing steem OG @jonyoudyer when HIVE Cut?,🤣

Gg4 came from a herm. So you never know . You could possibly find a unicorn. I always wanted to find one like it’s mom, the tahoo og, but never really did. If you find that. That’s a keeper!

Ya! This time for me, using feminized seeds isn't about finding rare phenotypes. I'm just avoiding males because I want sensimilla without headaches this time. But yeah, who knows, maybe there's something interesting in here! You will soon find out : ) I wouldn't mind seeing one of those almost-blue Steem OG phenos, like "Ace" was. Doing 12 at a time gives me a slightly larger chance of getting and noticing something cool. I've got 7 Steem OG sprouts above ground tonight.

I hear that! Good luck,and happy growing!

aaaaaaah the magic begins✨

Looks nice, tidy, and simplified. Hopefully it makes for good pictures and yield. Good luck!

Same to you, Girls :D !LUV
All the luck in the world. <3

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@girlsofgreen, you've been given LUV from @greatesteem.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/1)