What’s your perfect canopy? Show me your plant sculpting! Grow update 4.16

Hey everybody 😁,
Sorry it has taken me so long, I actually got sick as a dog this week! But I’m finally getting back around to it 💪 so here’s another update for you guys! (You already know I gotta start off with some bud pictures)

3CF025F2-5E93-4859-B3E3-0EB92C8C029E.jpeg

E7814635-F4EA-441C-ACC4-EA1E451B2EBD.jpeg

Let’s talk a little about canopies this week. The first time my boss started mentioning the word canopy to me my mind automatically jumped to like a middle school text book where they break down the different layers of a rainforest 🤣🤣 i was like come on bro…… little did I know how big of a roll the word canopy was going to matter for me.

With a well managed canopy it helps several factors including:

  • light penetration
  • air flow
  • light efficiency
  • pest control
  • nutrient uptake
  • plant health

I could go on and on, it’s is truly a major part of the lollipop style we personally use to grow.

Lollipopping is a pruning technique we like to use where we will strip the bottom half of the plant and leave the top half. One you do this the plants will look like little lollipops sometimes! The concept behind this is basically energy focusing.

The plant you are growing is getting a specific amount of food, light, resources, etc. but you get to control where it places said energy. A lot of our goals are big juice nugs right? What if you told your plant “hey know I’m gonna help you out here, I don’t even want you focusing on your lower half. Put all that energy into your top half and make them look even better!”. You and your plant will both love this! So on your plants side the top nodes won’t be fighting with as many nodes for food sources so they will naturally get bigger and on your side…. Well your getting bigger nugs! Who doesn’t like that!?

Let’s get into some canopy pictures!!

Call me crazy…. I’m a believer that it truly starts as you take your clone cuts. Ok ok ok I know you can always adjust down the line by topping plants at different speeds but I like to go even a step farther and right out the jump I’m taking all my clone cuts the be pretty close to the same height!

5D12F922-6C91-489E-A27D-5DA7D3516225.jpeg

The easiest way for me to do this without overthinking it or taking all day. I just cut all my clones to be the same size as my trimmers!

Once the plants start getting a little bit of age here is a canopy picture of some of our veg plants! You can see some of the lollipopping starting to take place here!

7BE293A1-4D6E-432F-AF0A-997C972EB0A9.jpeg

As the plants continue to grow some will out grow the others that’s when topping will take place. When you top a plant the stem from where you cut at will fork into two causing it to slow down its vertical growth! This is how you will maintain the even canopy throughout all your plants, ultimately you are the one in control of how they grow!

Once they get all grown up and go into flower they will look closer to this!

DF92DA19-EF9E-4E07-A1AE-9872E04B22C9.jpeg

AA70A2F4-EC11-4B25-B066-0237B9E72795.jpeg

274D95E7-8BD0-41DC-85E2-63C9988B52A7.jpeg

What are some tips and tricks you guys like to use to create your canopies?!?
And drop me some pictures of yours below!!!

Like I always say growing is like a art and everyone does it different so I love seeing how everyone else does it as well!

And once again,
Thank you for taking time out of your day to read my little update!
Much love 😁

Sort:  

Nice clean setup you have there.

I appreciate you 🙏🙏🙏

Good one! I love Super Cropping.

Posted using WeedCash Network

Congratulations @notlemsvision! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 700 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!