Grow Tent Update - Attack of the Thrips

in WeedCash Network2 years ago

Hey everyone, back with another update from my grow tent, though things aren't going as well as I hoped this month since some pests have invaded :/

LSD-25 #1


I forgot the exact date I planted my LSDs but they’re about 2 months old now.

The first one is turning out pretty good, the buds are becoming large and turning a nice purple color. It has a strong flowery smell very similar to the Blackberry I grew before it, and It didn't have any problems like burns or deficiencies.

Now it's getting attacked by Thrips though and the leaves are getting damaged. I'm sure it's causing it to slow down since they're basically draining the plant slowly and I've already removed quite a few leaves that were totally dried/eaten up.


LSD-25 #2

Thrip damage & deficiency

I planted the second LSD in a smaller pot cause I didn't have a larger one on hand, and it was doing great up until I started seeing orange/rusty patches. I'm pretty sure it's not a fungus because there are no spores that I can see or feel and it would have probably spread to the other plants by now.

I gave it some cal/mag and it seems to have stopped getting worse so that was probably the issue. The leaves near the top bud are the worst infected and I'm worried about mold if they start dying off so not sure if I should pull them out. I'm sure it stalled a bit due to the deficiency, it hasn't turned as purple or smell as strongly as the other LSD.


Northern Lights Auto


Emerged about 5 weeks ago and growing pretty bushy though the top leaves were getting a bit droopy, I think it's because they're so thin and it was close to the light so I moved it a bit further away for now and it's already looking better.

I actually snapped her main stem halfway through by mistake while attempting to train her a few weeks ago :) and considered starting it over since I have limited space, it was a free seed and didn’t want half a plant, but I decided to let it live and it healed just fine after a few days, it actually exploded in growth after that especially in the side branches so guessing maybe it had a similar effect to topping but to a lesser extent.

I guess I should be trimming off some of the lower leaves/bud sites too. I see that a lot of people do it and read that it could make the plant focus its energy on the remaining bud sites so they're bigger and more compact, but I'm freezing the “unsmokable” stuff for hash/oil anyway so there's no waste and didn’t want to stress them out if I don’t have to. Though I might start doing it to reduce humidity levels since my tent is getting packed.


Blackberry Auto


Man these Blackberries are sensitive, although I think its growing well in terms of size, it's showing the same leaf burns as my previous blackberries.. I was really careful with the nutrients this time and I changed the soil to an organic "light mix" to prevent this problem but it didn’t seem to help.

Kinda disappointed since my previous 2 burned and I wanted to get it better this time D:
I've planted my last 2 Blackberry seeds in bigger pots, and I think I’ll just not feed them any nutrients until they start flowering this time around and see how it goes.

babyblacks.jpg


Thrips

thrip.gif

As mentioned above now I have an infestation of Thrips (at least that's what I think they are from some google searching) which I'm 99% sure arrived with the new Biobizz soil I got. They've spread to every plant and are slowly sucking the sap out of the leaves so I need to get rid of them. I also don’t want them moving into the rest of the apartment which seems inevitable if they just keep multiplying. I've read that they’re a common problem and people use Neem oil and insecticidal soaps to get rid of them but you can't apply them after the plants have started flowering, also heard that Neem oil might be harmful to humans so would rather not use it at all if I don't have to.

Even if I harvest early and start over, what prevents them from coming back from new soil? Should I treat it with insecticide before using it? I guess that defeats the purpose of using organic soil/nutrients if you're killing the stuff inside it. Does anyone have any experience with Thrips or similar pests and how to deal with them? Let me know in the comments!

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
qwerdy tipped skylinebuds-weed (x1)
skylinebuds-weed tipped qwerdy (x1)
@qwerdy(3/5) tipped @jakiro12 (x1)
qwerdy tipped lacausa (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Keep spraying the leaves with high-pressure water, Use soap and oil mix with water on the underside leaves to kill them, watch for PM after spraying the leaves.

Wiping them off helps. Lowering the Humidity might help like low 30s high 20s

Thanks for the suggestions! I have high humidity so need to be careful with spraying while in flower but I'll def wipe off the leaves to keep them in check for now. !PIZZA

Yea, I got them recently as well. They came fome a clone. Thoes things are hard to terminate. What I noticed is they like plants in veg versus in flower, because of the trichomes. I say put another plant as a decoy. My veg tent is full of them but my flower tent had none. Im thinking of adding a pepper or tomato plant. I noticed some growers have a pepper or tomato plant and I think they use it as a decoy for bugs. You plants look awsome, good luck.

That makes sense, I see much more of them on the fan leaves than ones with trichomes. At least they won't attack the buds :) No space atm for a new plant but I'll consider it after I harvest the LSDs, I already want to get a bigger tent lol. Thanks!
!PIZZA

Lol, yea I feel you on that...more tents please.

Thrips suck! I would just spray the smaller plants asap after you get rid of the bigger plants, and make sure to spray 4 days in a row, and try to mix it up if you can, also clean your grow room, hopfully that helps.

Thanks, I'll get some insecticidal soap and spray them. Hopefully it doesn't get too out of hand till then, wish I had noticed them before planting more.

Yeah its important to disrupt the life cycle. I found putting sticky traps on the soil helps too since the eggs fall off

Congratulations @qwerdy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 22

where I live that pest died due to the presence of red ants, in my case sometimes I place my plants directly on the ground and I know that aphids are difficult to combat but sometimes biological pest control is better than chemical products

Yep I agree I'd rather not use potentially harmful chemicals especially on something I'll consume. I considered looking for some ladybugs outside to help out :D but they're rare here and I would probably be wasting my time. !PIZZA