My grow room, first grow & mistake

in WeedCash Network2 years ago

Hey everyone! This is my first post on Hive / Weedcash, I’m not usually a social media person or blogger, I joined Hive through Splinterlands, but was quite happy to discover that there’s a community of stoners on the blockchain!

I’ve used cannabis for a long time but only just started growing since cultivation laws are becoming more tolerant where I live. I decided to start with autoflowers since they seemed to be the easiest for beginners, and wanted to get some quick yields in so I can stop spending so much money on weed :)

So I got a 1m x 1m grow tent, 300W LED, ordered some seeds, and planted 2 Blackberry auto and 2 Mazar auto. They emerged on the 12th and 13th of September.


Mazar 1

mazar1.jpg

mazar12.jpg

I’m quite happy with this one, it didn’t give me any problems while it was growing though I was getting a little worried cause it barely had any smell until about 2 months in. Now it has a very strong earthy smell and the buds feel dense and heavy. I think she’s just about ready since most of the trichomes are cloudy and some are turning amber.


Mazar 2

mazar21.jpg

mazar22.jpg

Not the healthiest looking plant I guess :)

I actually thought this one was going to die on multiple occasions as the leaves got very droopy or curled at times. I searched online but there were like 99 reasons why it could be happening and I had no idea what was going on so I tried different things like moving it further away from light, away from fans, and giving it less water/nutrients but nothing worked and the leaves pretty much stayed droopy while the buds look underdeveloped compared to the other plants, there are fewer trichomes and the smell is weak. It got bigger and bushier than the other Mazar though so I’m a bit confused, maybe just bad genetics or it needs some more time?


Blackberry 1

black13.jpg

black1.jpg

I chose this strain mostly because of the purple buds since I had never actually seen purple buds irl and thought they looked beautiful in the pictures.

While they didn’t turn 100% purple as I’ve seen in some pics I’m definitely happy with what I see and smell. The branches are pretty thin and falling over from the weight of the buds, I didn’t really prepare for that but for my next plants I’ve ordered some training wire which should help keep them up better than strings and washing pegs :)

Both Blackberries seemed to have a bit of nutrient burn on the leaves while growing, though someone told me it was light burn, but I think nutrient burn does make sense because I used soil that was a little too hot for the grow phase. I couldn’t find any of the “recommended” organic brands locally so I just bought a pre-mixed soil and added some more perlite to it.

I’ve ordered some Biobizz light-mix now and will see if it helps for my next grows. I didn’t feed them any nutrients during the grow phase for this reason and only started with Biobizz grow & bloom after 2-3 weeks of flowering.

nutrient or light burn.jpg

Edit: I actually harvested this plant soon after I started writing this post cause I saw a lot of amber trichomes on the buds. I also learned that I really hate trimming lol. I decided to trim before drying because I have a lot of humidity here (60-70%,) and Blackberry 2 took 2 weeks to dry untrimmed even though it wasn’t very dense.

trimming.jpg


Blackberry 2 - my mistake

early black.jpg

early black 2.jpg

Here I made a big mistake, unfortunately I harvested this plant way too early, around 3 weeks ago. I was too eager and out of weed so wasn’t thinking straight :( also had no lense yet to check trichomes and had no idea how far along it was..but as you can see from the pic I think it was still way too green and the buds underdeveloped.

I’ve since dried it and put it in jars to cure, I smoked some of it already and it actually tastes decent and still gives me a nice high, though not as strong as the stuff I usually get, I’ve had worse. The jars have a nice citrus smell when opened but the some of the buds smell a bit like hay, probably because there’s so much leaf material. I didn’t think it was worth trimming that much because there’s very little solid bud, it’s mostly sugar leaves and stigmas D:

PXL_20211209_134602496.jpg

At least I have something to keep me going while the others are finished growing/drying..


Blackberry 3

babyblack.jpg

I planted another Blackberry when the others were about 6 weeks old. I think I did a better training job this time around though still using old pegs and strings until my training wire arrives :)

It’s showing the same leaf burn on the tips as the previous blackberries, not surprised since it’s in the same type of soil. It seems to be growing better than the previous 2 though and it’s already full of trichomes near the developing buds.


LSD-25

PXL_20211209_134752342.jpg

I decided to plant 2 LSD-25 since the first plants are soon ready anyway.

I got this strain because it supposedly has a strong sativa/mind high whereas both of the other strains I’m growing are indicas, also more purple buds!

Not much to say about them yet as they’re still young, will see how they turn out!


So that's my beginner grow room! Def not the biggest or most beautiful plants but I'm really happy with them (except the one I harvested early!) I plan to get bigger pots maybe I can increase their size a bit on my next grows since mine are only about 15L, and new soil is already on the way to hopefully fix the leaf burn.

Thanks for reading, feel free to give any advice or tell me how to improve my next grows :)

Sort:  

Hello man! Let me tell you, they all look amazing and super delicious 🤩

Good luck playing Splinterlands and enjoy the new blockchain. Send a hug to those beautiful babies from me 😜🤣

Hey welcome to Weedcash! You are right, that problem could be many things. Perhaps your not using engough, Cal/Mag, maybe it is a PH problem, or enviroment, ie, like high/low humidity. THen my last guess, a over/under problem. Trail and error is the best way I learn.

Thanks! I'm testing the water most days to make sure it's around 6.5 PH, but it could definitely be high humidity cause it's 60%+ here, so a dehumidifier is next on my shopping list. Will get some cal/mag too cause I don't have any yet, I guess it makes sense to also increase the cal/mag if you're feeding it more through fertilizers.

Hello, @qwerdy! This is @anggreklestari from the @OCD team. We saw that you already posted your first post here in Hive Blockchain! Congratulations and welcome!

Well, you can explore the communities that are suitable for your content. You can read some of the communities in this post: OCD Communities Incubation Program

For tips and information as a Hive newbie, click here: newbie guide.

The important thing is Hive is a bit different from other social media platforms since you are monetizing your blog. You can't include content that you don't own without sources. For more information, check this post: Why and How People Abuse and Plagiarise.

If you have questions or concerns, you can hop into OCD's Discord server and we'll gladly answer your questions.

Have a great day!

Glad you found your way over here from Splinterlands! Isnt this Blockchain bad ass?

Definitely! more people need to discover it, I wish more of the Wax games I play were on Hive instead.

the size of those buds are amazing i want one :D

Congratulations @qwerdy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal for 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Dear @qwerdy, we need your help!

The Hivebuzz proposal already got an important support from the community and is close to be funded. However, it misses a few votes to get past the return proposal and your could make the difference!

May we ask you to support it so our team can continue its work this year?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Thank you!