Just about half way through flowering – Cannabis grow update

in WeedCash Networklast year (edited)

The smell coming from the tent was already getting pretty strong from all the vegetation, but now there is a new smell.. dank sticky buds. The plants are putting on weight, noticeably more heavy when I move them. I think its all going into bud growth. Seeing the leaves covered in trichromes and even more sugar leaves forming I think the plants are very happy with the 1000W HPS light and the added co2 from the sugar/yeast mixes. They are now being fed their flowering nutrients, and the amount of water they consume is just amazing. Giving them a few gallons a week of water for each plant. The plants are showing their content with lots of bud growth and sugar leaves forming all around them.

Camera ModelLumix GH6
LensOlympus MSC ED M. 60mm Macro lens
Filternone
Aperturef/13
Shutter Speed1/13 sec
Film Speed3200
SpectrumVisual Light
Wavelength380 through 700 nanometers
LocationCentral Virginia USA.

In the last few days I moved the light up a few inches as the canopy is getting quite warm. I try to keep the temperatures at the bud sites below 85F (29C). If the temperature got above 100F (37C) it would start to degrade the terpenes. My plants can handle higher temperatures due to their co2 enriched environments but its important not to let the buds degrade from getting cooked by my powerful light.

Hard to say when the flowering will be done, since these are unknown strains its really hard to say. I am guessing a total of around 60 days but it can vary.

I ordered a digital microscope and a magnifier to look through to check on the state of the trichromes. This is a good way to tell when its time to harvest, as the trichromes change colors as they ripen. But we are still a few weeks away, maybe a month from that time.

Right now the hairs are mostly a white to lime green color. But when the plant gets closer to harvest they should change to a more orange color.

Amazing to see all the crystals forming, but I really need to be more careful wearing clean clothes around these plants now. They are so sticky, if any lent falls off my clothes it can get stuck to the plants.

We can see a few stray fabric strands, need to pull those off. Maybe its time to buy some lab coats and only wear them when working on the plants. I should get green colored ones.. lol

The underside of the leaves are looking quite strong, even though its short its a stout plant.

I am going to have lots of sugar leaves after trimming. Need to find a good use for them, maybe I will make another tea.

Zooming out and plant 1:

Mainlining has been something new to me, by training the stalks to the sides of the pot it looks more wide than tall. That gives my plant the advantage to get light to all the buds unlike growing them traditionally where only the top buds get most of the light.

The leaves are kind of small, but that is due to major trimming done during the mainline. Even with them being small I may go back and do some defoliation so none of the leaves are touching the buds and allow more air flow.

But id rather have small leaves than big ones blocking each other.

The trunks are looking the most impressive, they are approaching the thickness of a sharpie pen.

We can see where I did the 2nd mainline, going from two main colas to four.

For the last month I have been using soft wires I train the buds, but at this point I will stop training and just let grow up. At the most I may trim off some leaves as pointed out earlier.

This is the first time I have done any training, but I like it and I think I will keep topping plants and training them. Not sure if I will mainline right away again but its good to know how.

I messed up on one of the mainlines, and it started growing the wrong way. So now I have one mainline stacked on the other.

Plant 2

The second flowering plant is slightly taller. This was because I messed up on mainlining and had to redo some of the wires.

Using the plant hoop and wires it has really helped me manage this plants growth.

Moving the HPS light up recently as they grow I do not want the plants to burn, I still have around 6 inches of travel up on the light. And if I ran out then I can attach the light clips directly to the tent and get another few inches. But I hope with my training of the plant and starting flowering early I wont need to worry about running out of room.

Whats next?

Keeping up the co2 in the room at this point is crucial, as the plant is growing and putting lots of energy into the buds. Using my air quality meter I try to keep the PPM's over 1000 and upwards of 1400 and refresh the yeast and sugar water mix a few times a week.

It would probably be a good time to defoliate but since the leaves are all quite small I am reluctant to do this.

I keep using essential oil diffusers in the tent to help keep away any pests. I do this twice a week right now. A mix of rosemary, eucalyptus and peppermint is what I put into the oil diffusers, makes the rooms smell lovely.

Once my digital microscope arrives I can start looking at the trichromes and know when to harvest. It is important to wait for the crystals on the buds to go from a clear appearance to milky and finally to amber. Since I do not know what strain these are I will just go all the way to amber to make sure it fully ripens up. But with sativa dominant strains I would harvest when they are more of a milky white.


Previous posts on my cannabis project:

https://peakd.com/hive-195708/@solominer/two-weeks-into-flowering-cannabis-grow-update

https://peakd.com/hive-195708/@solominer/starting-the-flowering-cycles-for-my-cannabis-plants

https://peakd.com/hive-195708/@solominer/topping-and-training-the-cannabis-plants

https://peakd.com/hive-163521/@solominer/bigger-better-stronger-plants-by-adding-co2

https://peakd.com/hive-195708/@solominer/cannabis-plants-update-females-confirmed

https://peakd.com/hive-195708/@solominer/making-cannabis-tea-from-male-plants

https://peakd.com/hive-195708/@solominer/luck-has-not-been-on-my-side-2-confirmed-male-cannabis-plants-so-far

https://peakd.com/hive-195708/@solominer/moving-up-from-sprouting-to-vegetative-growth

https://peakd.com/hive-195708/@solominer/setting-up-the-grow-tent-and-transplanting-two-sproutlings

https://peakd.com/hive-195708/@solominer/my-cannabis-sproutling-is-now-one-week-old

https://peakd.com/hive-195708/@solominer/one-sproutling-has-emerged-moved-to-the-big-pot

https://peakd.com/hive-195708/@solominer/cannabis-seeds-have-sprouted-now-they-go-into-dirt

https://peakd.com/hive-195708/@solominer/starting-my-cannabis-seeds-and-my-future-plants-for-growing

Sort:  

I was right then man 😉😁. Though you had to unwrap a plant, these two beautiful girls are a wonder to behold! One thing that I clearly notice as a difference between your plants and mine, is the difference in the trunk, yours is very massive, certainly your control of the air in the box and of the entire microclimate makes its job well!

The harvest is still a long way off, more than a month for sure and what amazes me is the amount of resin that is already there and it reaches down to the tips of the leaves, I can't wait to see them in a few weeks, they will look covered in snow. Fantastic work! Have a great week @solominer. !WEED

Oh were you the one to tell me to mainline? I forget now who told me in the community recommended it. Well it has surely worked well for these two.

Yeah those manifolds are getting real big, I think your right.. all the right temps, humidity and added co2 has really made them thick.

I think so too.. anywhere from 15 days to 45 days from now is my guess. I got my microscope so I can check the trichromes when they get closer. Not enough orange hairs yet to make me worry about them being ripe.

Those sugar leaves are pretty amazing, I will do another photo shoot soon to hopefully show off the buds at least one more time before harvest.

Oh I like the term sugar leaves, it's new to me, cool :D. Anyway no it wasn't me who told you about mainline, I was saying because I told you they would be a success from how these two were growing, when you lost the third plant because it was male...

Can't wait to see how they are now ;). I see you haven't made a new post yet, they'll be beautiful now, have they started coloring their trichomes? But maybe it's still early... Have a wonderful day ;). !WEED

Ah right, sorry I get overwhelmed by all the great feedback from everyone in the cannabis community here. Sometimes I forgot who told me what...lol

I have a update post right around the corner.. took some pictures today of it.. But I want to go back and pull them out of the tent again to get some better microscope shots.. Right now the stigma hairs look ready, mostly an orange color now. But under the microscope I still have some clear trichromes. I am waiting until they go all milky and start turning amber. Hopefully in another week or so at least one of them will be ready to harvest :-)

I find consistent that you are very popular, your posts are always well done and very interesting, because you always explain many things.

Yes, better wait until the trichomes are all at least milky. Wishing you a happy weekend and a good harvest 😉. !WEED

@solominer!

@mangopie passed you the virtual joint!
If you do not want to receive these comments, please reply with !STOP

@solominer!

@mangopie passed you the virtual joint!
If you do not want to receive these comments, please reply with !STOP

beautiful job cropping to multiple colas, makes me miss gardening... hope you don't mind sharing my pix, this macro shot by derangedvisions when he stopped by my place in Vegas in 2018 from my steemit post
macrobyderanged.jfif
my last garden was in Bakersfield Ca in brothers backyard last year here (the wood fence behind is 6' tall) with much travel and multiple infestations still got a nice crop

weed1.jpg

Thanks, this is the first time I have trained them so glad they are indeed forming many colas. Those look great, very cool.

I have yet to grow outdoor, but I plan on doing that eventually. I hear the bugs can be a problem, but hopefully with the right control methods I can knock them out.

DUDE! What a hell of a rebound, these are looking great. HPS really is a great light, and I bet it is treating you very good in those cold Virgina nights.

Posted using WeedCash Network

Yeah my first grow here in VA was a little sketchy at first, but now I have all the needed hardware I think the next harvest should be even better.. None the less these girls are indeed coming along nicely.. Cannot wait to see what they yield.

haha, between the smell of fermentation from the co2, dank buds and a little heat added to the house its all quite nice.

You better Catch up! @derangedvisions is already drying his soon to be Tasty Blunt.

Also i was wondering, why are you guys growing with alot of contraptions! It make me wonder what is happening in the Background.

Hah! Well he has lived in a legal state for many years now I believe. I just moved to Virginia a few months ago :-P

So this is my first grow here.

All our contraptions help the cannabis plants achieve higher yields. Along with training them.

Aghh, reminds me of those vertical farms. Next time i check up on you, the weeds are grown in Nutrient solutions and the plant is Heavily GMO'd.

Hah.. only dirt here, I have no experience with doing hydro grows.

Hell nah, no GMOs.. only natural buds.

Its like you show me a GMO strain vs What farmer Jim Bob cooked up in his garage within the past 10yrs. I think Farmer Jim Bob's weed will be much stronger.

Hhhhaahha

This is truly excellent work. I will definitely use hours to look at everything you have posted. I love the precision in your work. These two plants have enormous potential. I would like to know more about them but surely you have specified it in previous updates. I go to look. Happy growing!🤗

Ah much appreciated, I do try to document just about everything that goes on in these grows. And yeah I think so too, they are surely not done growing.. only half way through the cycle right now.

Yeah check out my previous posts to get all caught up.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

You look after them like your children. I have plants too, but I think you take much better care of them :)

Hah I sure do, my partner jokes no one else works this hard on their plants so I think I am pretty caring of them..

Hope yours do well too.

Many things learning from this post for take care plants , Thanks for sharing

Just wow... !LUV to see Growth in each posts! You so Good at taking care of em.

Yeah bud it is coming along nicely.. Its funny I do not see much change as I visit them every day. But when I go back to my previous posts its quite apparent of the growth.

thanks

I am green with jealousy for your ability to do that.

My Government are a pack of feckless cretins.

Hehe well hopefully you can move to somewhere its legal near you. Or the laws change where you live soon enough..

I had to move more north to find any place that was even remotely friendly towards it. And it was not like this in VA up till just a few years ago. Where I lived before I could never do this without great consequences.

I am walking my own walk in that respect. CBD has been charted although I have to pay for it. That's certainly a step in the right direction in my mind.

Look at them... they are literally glowing 💚👏

hehe sure are, forming up quite nicely and shimmering in crystals.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

😍

Spill it! Who else is running a Weed operation in your discord.

Seems like everyone is growing weed now.

Don't tell me, your growing weed as well!

Hah! It would seem like it huh? Well at least in the US legalization has been growing a lot in the last ten years. I saw Thailand legalized, so maybe there is hope for your country to as well to legalize @takuri.

I dont think they are growing yet, but maybe one day they will and post about it :-)

image.png

Kindly refer to the graph below and form a hypothesis. 🤣

Hah well that sucks that they want to control you like that. Religions tend to do that.