AFRI-INLEO INITIATIVE 3: 🎵MY FAVOURITE SONG IN MY DIALECT/CULTURE

in AFRI-TUNES11 days ago

One of the beautiful moments of musical entertainment is singing and dancing in one's dialect or culture. This type of music is mostly traditional form of music although nowadays evolved based on advancement in technology. Music in one's dialect/culture is the foremost form of music since the existence of man and still in vogue till today. As a Nigerian of the southwestern origin, there are certain traditional music and artistes i grew up to know who are my favorites because of how melodious their music is, good combination of vocals, skillful instrumental display and their meaningful lyrical content.

One of my favorite song is that sang by Chief Ebenezer Obey popularly called "Obey Commander" in one of his evergreen music titled "Ketekete" meaning horse. This song is a narrative story of a horse, a man and his son depicting the insatiable nature of man. I found this story true and applicable in life because it's practically impossible to satisfy everyone and infact in economic studies, human needs are described as insatiable. This song is truly an evergreen sang and accepted by many especially the oldies and the song is full of practical wisdom. Chief Ebenezer Obey has produced many songs which are evergreen and he is renowned for his skillfulness in playing the guitar 🎸.

Ko sogbon to le da
Ko si wa to le wu
Ko sona to le mo
To le fi daiye lorun o

Source

Similarly, another favourite song in my dialect is titled "Appreciation" as sang by one of the foremost and reknown musician in my country in person of King Sunny Ade. "Appreciation" is a song of gratitude to God for His benevolence and kindness to we humans. Truly, it takes a thoughtful heart to give thanks to God. I so much like this song by its thought provoking lyrics which is so meaningful and also with its perculiar danceable instrumentals. King Sunny Ade is also famous for his prowess in playing guitar 🎸 and has sang on many platforms and occasions both locally and internationally.

Appreciation
Mo dupe
Onibu'ore Baba gb'ope mi
Appreciation
Mo dupe
Onibu'ore Baba gb'ope mi

Source

I will always appreciate songs in my dialect/culture because they showcase originality as most of those songs were written and composed based on reflections and inspirations hereby communicating valuable wisdom. In addition to this, these songs promotes our cultural heritage and helps us to appreciates how valuable and rich our culture is. Infact, it brings it to the limelight as it is performed all over the world and now recorded using sophisticated gadgets and accessible to everyone all around the world.

These are my favorite songs in my dialect/culture by two renowned music icons from my tribe whose music is of great impact and influence both locally and internationally. Both are the choicest even in performance at functions, events and occassions involving dignitaries because they are record breakers and have proven that indigenous/traditional music is indeed a great form of music to be appreciated anyday anytime. Their songs are evergreen. Thank you for reading and comments, contributions are welcomed.

This is my participation post in FAVOURITE SONG IN YOUR DIALECT/CULTURE OF AFRI-INLEO INITIATIVE 3. Check out this https://inleo.io/@afri-tunes/favorite-song-in-your-dialectculture-afriinleo-initiative-3-8kb to get involved. @adedoyin-g, you are invited to join this initiative THUMBNAIL DESIGNED USING CANVA

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

You have a very good selection of songs.
I wish I can speak your language very well.
Thanks for sharing

Awnnnn
Thanks so much ma for the compliments
Yes you can learn it ooo, it's easy t learn
I appreciate your comments

Songs like this have a way of taking us back to what use to be. There are also so many song I grow up hearing my father play, they remain in my head and their depth meaning may never leave my memory

Exactly 💯
I quite agree with you
Thanks for your comments

You are welcome my friend

This is actually nice song for the contest a son that talks about how hyprocite humans can be . I never knew you were from my tribe o. You are from which state abeg??.

Awwwn 🤗
Thanks so much
Yes I'm a yoruba man from Osun State

That's a beautiful reflection on Chief Ebenezer Obey's music, especially "Ketekete." His songs indeed carry deep wisdom and cultural significance, making them timeless classics. It's wonderful how music in one's dialect connects us to our roots and traditions.

Apt 💯
Well spoken ✅
Thanks so much for your valuable comments