A Hidden Gem: Discovering My Underrated Favorite

in AFRI-TUNES12 days ago

Picking just one favourite song is really hard for me because there are a plethora of songs that tickle my fancy on all ramifications.

To start with how do I decide which song will be my favorite and which one will be part of the ones I just listen to and enjoy.

First of all the melody and instrumentation are very important to me, does the artist pay attention to what chords the keyboard plays, do the drums play in harmony with the key, does the bass guitar accompany all of that in synergy?

Also, the vocal dexterity of the musician gets me going. I want to hear a voice that is both unique and carries the instrumentation so well that it feels like they were meant to be together.

Most significantly, the lyrics... I am not a fan of shabby and not well thought out flow of words. The lyrics of a song I believe is a mirror to what's in the soul of the artiste, as at when they write the song at least.

How can I forget to mention the kind of emotion that a song brings. Is the song able to evoke both sad and happy emotions? Can I listen to the song and go from having a bad day to smiling sheepishly? Can I listen to the song and start to recall some old memories that move me to tears ?

An artiste that does all these for me is Jon Bellion, there's just so much to say about him. He's a rapper, a producer, a musician and Lyricist ( He has written for musicians like Rihanna, Maroon 5, Justin Bieber, Halsey, Selena Gomez...)

There's literally none of his songs I've listened to that I didn't love, is it because I just love his person, how hard working and driven he is? I really can't say. I've watched the making of some of his music and you'd be amazed at how long the recording sessions took and the amount of vocal overlays it took to get a 3 minute long song.

Phew! I totally forgot I was just asked to talk about my favorite song and not praise the musician but I couldn't help it.

My best pick would be STUPID DEEP BY JON BELLION. That song is a masterpiece that marries all of my criteria for picking a favourite song so well you'd think he came to seek my opinion before writing the song.

There are a bunch of other songs that come close to this pick but by far this is my all time favorite. I would have spoken about my 2nd Favourite song but I guess we'd do that in another post.

I thought to add this, that I don't fancy the kind of music you listen to doesn't necessarily make it bad... It's just that it doesn't tickle my fancy and don't expect mine to tickle yours either.

With that said... DAVIDO IS BETTER THAN WIZKID 🏃🏾🏃🏾🏃🏾🏃🏾🏃🏾

All images produced using Leonardo Ai

THIS IS MY RESPONSE TO THE DAILY SEPTEMBER INLEO PROMPT, WANNA JOIN THE FUN? USE THIS LINK TO JOIN THE CONTEST

See you soon. Thanks for reading

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @mandrelmykels! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The countdown to HiveFest⁹ is one week away - Join us and get your exclusive badge!