My Freelance Writing Journey at Upwork Global Inc.

in WorkLife8 months ago

I was not born to be a writer, honestly. I had so many insecurities when it comes to writing way back when I was still in grade school, and all I have in mind is that writing is not meant for me. I used to admire my classmates who were so good at writing lengthy paragraphs, and I almost pity myself for not being good at it. But, tables did turn and it was my time to learn and grow as a writer.

Years ago, I had no idea that I will be pursuing a career in the field of writing. But in 2020, I tried everything I could to improve my tone and style in writing, especially my vocabulary. It was not so easy at first, but as I look back, it was all worth it. Now, I am going to share with you the milestones and my list of small achievements as a freelance writer at Upwork Global Inc.

Template 8.jpg

It all started way back in 2020 when I created an account. I completed the details needed, but I had nothing to compile on my Portfolio (where your work samples must be attached), so I decided to set it aside and just focus on my personal blogs. After two years of not checking my Upwork account, I finally had the courage to apply for some job postings looking for content writers, along with my blogging journey.

376387070_3499291527065595_5604285284536144707_n.jpg

The journey did not go smoothly, and I almost stopped sending proposals because no one seem to be interested on my skills and talent. But I threw away the negative thinking, and decided to push through. I thought of strategies where I can catch the attention of clients, and I tried updating my Profile and Skills Description.

Untitled design (6).jpg

I continued sending proposals to jobs posted, and it took me 50 Proposals before I finally had my first client. Such a tough challenge, right? But the client did not hire me because I did not pass the test work. I felt really sad, but I know I had no other choice. After a few months of sending work samples and accepting interviews, I finally got clients that officially hired me as one of their content writers.

Untitled design (4).jpg

I already have a total of 6 Jobs, only 2 remain in progress and the other 4 are already completed. Because of this, my account had grown over the months of working it out. I currently have a long-term client that helped me improve and grow as a freelancer.

Untitled design (3).jpg

And because of the continuous projects I do for my two clients, my account became qualified to Top Rated badge. This is one of the small achievements that I am proud of having. Since I continuously accomplish milestones, I even acquired 100% Job Success Score aside from the Top Rated badge. And these two made an impact to my Upwork journey.

Untitled design (2).jpg

Because of the previous projects I submitted, I even earned several work samples to add on my Portfolio. I got it from the different tasks requested by my clients. Some of the topics are related to product description. Also, my niche is under the Search Engine Optimization (SEO) content writing.

Untitled design (5).jpg

Untitled design (7).jpg

Overall, I can say that my freelance writing journey at Upwork is a rollercoaster ride. It all started at nothing, but now that I look at it, everything is going too well. Right now, I am looking forward to having more future assignments from my clients. And I have a goal of achieving the Top Rated Plus in the future years.

Untitled design (1).jpg



I cannot express how thankful I am to those who have taken the time to read what I have written today. Your support means everything to me. Please acknowledge the sincere thanks I feel for each and every one of you. I hope to see you on my next blog and look forward to it. Sending peace and love! :)

Beige Minimalist Neutral Company Presentation.jpg

Author's Socials:
CHECK OUT SOME PREVIOUS BLOGS:

charmingcherry.gif

Hive Blog No. 75
Date Published: September 13, 2023

All photos are captured & edited by CC. | Copyright © 2023, @charmingcherry. All Rights Reserved.

Sort:  

Wow.. Getting a long term freelance job isn't easy.. So congrats to having one.
So how long did you wait to get a client after 50 proposals?
I can imagine how hard the journey is.. Once I become jobless, I might fall into this job as well ..

I don't know how long, but I submitted a total of 50 Proposals. It was really tough, and requires a lot of patience ate.

Congratulations Ading! You deserved it! More to go ading 😘

Thank you ate

Congratulations on this achievement. It's not easy.
I've heard so much about upwork and I feel lazy to get involved because I heard it's difficult

Thank you so much. Yeah, Upwork is a good platform but it's really difficult to get a job or catch the attention of clients since there are a lot of freelancers diving into it recently. I hope you will be part of it one day.

So I heard.
It's well

Congratulations on being hired, sis. Finally, after 50 proposals. I know how hard it is to wait but I believe you truly deserve it. I have an account in Upwork, but I forgot my login details. Once again, congrats Cherry!
!LADY !PIZZA

View or trade LOH tokens.


@pinkchic, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @charmingcherry and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/4 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@pinkchic(3/5) tipped @charmingcherry