You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Monday sort of Monday

in WorkLife2 years ago

Damn now that's a bitch of a situation.. but we can only do so much ourselves before we leave other aspects of life and work in the hands of others. People make mistakes that's for sure but it's just one of those unfortunate situations where a few mistakes happened with the wrong client. Hopefully you can rectify it and keep things moving again for a while, issue-free preferably for sure, but what happens, will happen and you tried your best. I think that's why I'm glad I'm not in sales lol too much for my taste!

Wearing steel toe boots is a safety hazard in itself isn't it? If you drop something heavy on that, goodbye to your toes! That was always a warning my dad gave me when buying work boots, steel toe ones are dangerous in their own right.

Sort:  

Yeah, it's not good at all and something I have to put some effort into. I've got a strategy but it'll come down to what happens tomorrow at the meeting. I'm normally pretty good in these cases, but one never knows. This company is the largest if it's type in Australia and are multi-national so, to be unt about it, they don't fuck around. I'm hoping to be able to do enough.

Steel-toe footwear is all about insurance, not saving toes, these days. If something heavy enough impacts the toe area the cap won't save the toes as you say. But insurance companies require certain things to be met and that is one. If an incident happens and standards haven't been met then payouts/cover is in jeopardy. The government enforced/policed, work cover thing comes into play also.

Still, they're a requirement and a driver should know better than to turn up without them. That driver has two more hours with the company before he is speared. He has himself to blame.