Work Bosses Redux

in WorkLife15 days ago

Hi fellow Hiveians,

Today I wanted to reflect back on a post I wrote a few months ago, and where things are at now!

IMG_6831.JPG

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Work Bosses Redux

Work bosses redux - what the hell?

A few months ago, I had written about accomplishing one of the biggest milestones of my work career, finishing the biggest project I had been involved in to date. It was pretty bumpy after it all but the good thing is is that it was done, we moved forward and made changes along the way.

IMG_6898.JPG

Where we are now a few months after that whole thing went down, I wanted to write a little bit of a follow up on some of the stuff that helped me in the wake of that whole thing. One of the really big things is the concept that Galen had talked about in one of his posts around that time: "Work, Don't Worry" and I think that really resonated with me!

The concept of "Work, Don't Worry" is that yeah, shit may be brutal and all kinds of things may have gone wrong or be going wrong, but one of the best things that we can do is try to not focus on being scared, mad or any of those negative emotions. We are at our best when we are able to put those silly things aside and just focus on what we know, which is the work that we are doing. I will say that it's not easy to do that and I've certainly gotten some times during all of that where I didn't exactly embody all of that mantra but at the end of the day, keeping focus on the work and not worrying about those other elements of it is huge.

IMG_0982.JPG

The stress of it all was brutal but it was one of those things that you experience, learn from and take away that you should do your best and improve the situations in the future so that you aren't putting yourself in those positions again, to the extent possible of course. I was able to keep my nose down, attention focused on the tasks at hand and gathering the people around me to help get things back on track and in the right direction.

This has recently been all wrapped up in that I am fully disconnected now from the project, documented everything that I can as far as issues, path forward, lessons learned and next steps. The typical things from a project management perspective. Doing these things has really wrapped the whole thing up in a bow, but most importantly helped me in figuring out how to do something as big as this was, better in the future.

I think one of the best things that we can do in a given difficult situation is figure out how we can approach things differently and better the next time. The idea is to approach it differently, it doesn't always mean that it's going to go the way that we would like it to, but that's not exactly the point. If we can get it heading in the right direction from the getgo, it is a bit easier to make course corrections along the way instead of starting wildly in the wrong direction then having to make significant course corrections later on. This goes both ways for sure, but if we can do this stuff in the beginning it not only improves it for us, but for the customers and end users as well.

IMG_6831.JPG

The funny thing about this all though, is that notion of "those who do good work are cursed with getting more work". I don't shy away from things, in fact I lean into them but sometimes we want to take a little bit of a step back after such a grueling task and take one on that's a little bit lighter. No such luck in this case though! I went from one big one to the next big one, and I am certainly going to apply a lot of these concepts that I learned in the last one, to the new one!

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

-CmplXty. Real human written content, never AI. All pictures are mine unless otherwise stated

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 2,900 PRE tokens, with a market value of $180.27. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link below and spread the word!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


Image source

Sort:  

This place is very beautiful and it seems that by going over such a place, one goes into heaven.

Work bosses always want the job to keep moving whether the worker likes it or not since that’s their only concern. I won’t blame them but it doesn’t make any sense
They don’t even want people to have time for their family. All the want us to do is work

Yeah some bosses are like that which is unfortunate. I am lucky in that the role I have right now, there is a good balance if we put in the work.

It's all about the mindset that we have: Or we are "pushers" or "pullers". I've listen to that in a podcast, and the concept makes a all lot of sense to me. When we work our a**s hard, the person or persons that trusted the "task" in our skills and abilities, gain a respect that has a huge impact in our lifes... The trick, IMHO, is not dealing with the task, without having our needs in concern.

Make it with time. Quality has it own time.

Yup absolutely! It's good to get a task and then do it to the best of our abilities, to make it successful for all involved. It may not be easy or glamorous but it's the right thing to do!

Work is never been finished. Old one finished, new one is coming. But the important thing is about feeling balance and enjoy your life

Yeah for sure! It’s all about balance - if we can achieve balance we are in good shape!