Beyond May 1st; Reimagining A Future For Workers.

in WorkLife14 days ago (edited)

Every 1st of May is International Worker's Day, but if we are being honest, I do not see any cause for celebration.

Today seems to be the only time workers get the world's attention and it baffles me what we are celebrating when what we really need is a solution.

It's sad to see people who have strived and struggled for the progress of the nation barely get the due appreciation.

I know you would ask what of the wages and salaries? Believe me when I say those are just mere compensation.

If you doubt it, go about asking how many workers are coping with the current inflation.

Monkey dey work - baboon dey chop have become global trends and the present situation.

In every country's economy, workers are the backbone and foundation. Take away their impact, and your country's economy will either crumble or hit stagnation.

Their influence doesn't end with the production of goods and services, as we have seen them maintain the line of consumption.

Workers drive innovation and should be applauded for their impact on revenue generation.

Now, tell what things would have looked like without their contribution.

These people labor so hard and live like peasants; it's terrible they have to endure so much frustration.

In some countries, wages are even nothing to write home about and a good life for many workers is just an imagination

A large percentage of workers can't afford to live in good houses, feed their children, or give them a good education.

It's time our government thought about it; a lot about workers globally needs correction.

I hope the workers march today does more than mere vibration and I pray it ends their tribulation & affliction.

At the end of today's celebration, I hope we have a new beginning for all workers across nations.

Canva generated image

The foundation of many things wasn't set right globally, and how workers are treated is one of them. These people labor day and night to keep so many things balanced in the nation, but they get almost nothing in return except if they are connected to or involved in supporting a corrupted system of government.

The impact of workers globally can't be quantified, and I believe that they should be treated better.

For some years now, the inflation rate globally has skyrocketed, yet wages or salaries aren't increasing in some parts of the world. While the people in power are racking in millions of dollars, the people who are getting the job done can barely survive the hardship in the country.

Why does it have to be that way?Why must the laborers have nothing to show for at the end of everything?

Who gets the job done? Who gets the reward?

Who struggles to pay house rent? Who lives in mansions?

Who is starving? Who is flying across continents to have breakfast, lunch, and dinner?

I believe we don't need to look deep before we find answers, and one thing our government fails to realize is that until workers are treated right, a lot of things won't work out in different parts of the world.

In Nigeria today, it has become a dream for every worker to migrate to other countries where their services are appreciated. Some youths would rather seek illegal means of making money than depending on the government, because they don't want to get trapped like their parents, who had nothing to show for labor after so many years.

Setting things right for workers can change a whole lot of things, and I hope this year May 1st mark the changes we are hoping to see.


I am sorry this didn't end as a proper post; I just couldn't hold back what's on my mind.

To every faithful worker out there, I pray that the Almighty God will ease our struggle and make life a lot easier for us.

The Inleo prompt is a daily initiative that helps writers a lot, and you can participate just like hundreds of Hive members are doing.

April Inleo Monthly Calendar

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Indeed, these issues are most troubling. I find that in South Africa there are many laws to protect the rights of workers and ensure that they are treated right.

But the monetary reward is a joke because of that inflation.

I am in a SENIOR position in my company and I do not earn enough to pay all my bills and I do not live a luxury lifestyle. This is just to pay rent, food, transport, internet and loans.

I am trapped here financially with no chance of getting out of it unless I can do additional work and break that cycle of debt in order to live.

It is also a holiday here. Have a good one! I shall be working!

It's better over there than what's happening in Nigeria even though we have laws but they are not effective when it comes to protecting the right of every worker.

I feel like being a worker is trap to remain in a cycle of earning and just spending with nothing to keep for later. With the inflation hitting hard, things are becoming worse and it's annoying that the authorities who are meant to make amendment would just fold hands just because they are doing well despite the problems.

I wish you a blessed day at work and pray that this year mark the beginning of the change we all want to see.

I can feel the outpouring here. You literally poured your heart and how you feel about workers. I was reading vanguard newspaper and saw the comments of some workers...it's hard for their salaries to sustain them in this harsh economy. So many sectors are seeking for increase in their wages...I really hope that government will look into their plea and stop bagging the country's money all by themselves but reach out to the backbone that generates the revenue

for me too, I don't have any reason to celebrate because all labours are not happy

I went to work today despite being a worker's day and for a peanut. Workers are given less attention and appreciation. A salary or wage in Nigeria cannot make anyone rich. Today's not for celebration, just a day to rest.