You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Monday sort of Monday

in WorkLife2 years ago

People should be serious about serious things. Some things are no joke, man. They end in death, like you mentioned. I was playing a game the other day and in that game I manage people working in the cold. You can find that post by clicking here. I suggest you check it out if you like playing games. Some of them do things I don't want to do and then they get maimed. Then I tell them to stay at home because they are crippled but they can't live with it and they commit suicide. It's not a problem when it happens in the game but in real life nothing is a joke.

Sort:  

Yep, safety is not a joke and here in Australia it is strictly manager; there's little room for compromise as you can see. Today that chap made a choice to arrive unprepared and ended the day with no job - maybe he'll learn his lesson, maybe not.

Usually for irresponsible people such things come as a shock. He will be more responsible from now on. I'm sure about it.

I think so, and hope so for his sake.

Also, I forgot to say, I'm not a gamer so don't really understand that whole thing very well.

Basically I manage people who work in the cold and I try to keep them alive. Sometimes they have to work in the cold or they don't do what I want them to do. Then they get frostbite and I have to amputate their arms and then I tell them to stay at home but they commit suicide because they think they are useless that way.

It sounds like a gruesome game. I wonder what a real life version might be like?

I don't want to know the answer to something like this. I hope no one else experiences this. It's better to keep it as a game. That's why even in the game I try to protect all my people from everything.

Yep, I think it's best left as a game.