You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stepping into the Arena of Wokeism - I'm Writing a Book!

in DTube10 months ago

I "use" the term because I keep hearing it over and over and had no idea what it meant. I'm also unsure what is meant by 'social justice'. I'm for justice in all its flavours, and if social is one of those flavours, then I must be for it. I'm just not sure what it is. And the term 'woke' is only derogatory if you think it is. You're giving it that meaning, not I. Some people seem to identify with that term.

Sort:  

had no idea what it meant.

Ah! It's a little like 'gay' in that people will use it to describe themselves, but others use it as an insult.

I've seen woke defined as "aware of social and political issues, especially racism". I think most people are aware of these things, but some don't think they matter.

Anyway, nice to see you commenting here. It took you a while to respond to me. You will find all viewpoints on Hive, but that's what it's designed for.

Actually I said "wokeism" not "woke" was derogatory. I don't see woke as derogatory.

I see, I see. So what would you use for the noun then?