Yes you CAN - taking apart the mythology of 'I'm not creative'

in DTube4 years ago


An art talk from The School Of Real Art - a radical programme in liberating our inherent immense creative potential through the primal activities of drawing and painting. If you ever wondered why your creative path ground to a halt, or why your art career seems to be missing confidence or vitality... this school is for you.

Access The SORA via my Patreon (www.patreon.com/claregalloway), where you'll also find the accompanying worksheets and challenges

Buy the whole school and my other courses directly from Teachable (https://sora.teachable.com/p/sora-raw)


▶️ DTube
▶️ BTFS
Sort:  

This is a highly important message and I can't help but feel that everybody is put on earth to create in one way or another and many who don't give in to this ( natural ) calling feel depressed, get sick, unhappy and so on.

Your story reminds me of how I got my house in Portugal ( as did my twin sister ). Both of us had very little money and were stuck in The Netherlands. I was depressed, my sister burnt out.

Then - in 2017 - our younger sister asked my parents for a loan to renovate an expensive new house that her husband and her had recently bought. My parents accepted and told their other three kids ( including my twin sister and I ) that they'd given our sister money and that they felt it was our right to claim the same amount ( as early inheritance money ) to spend it in a way we deemed fit.

With this money, I wouldn't have been able to buy anything in The Netherlands - possibly rent for a year or two / three - but I was pretty fed up with this country ( depressed, didn't feel I fitted in the system ) and this felt like a way out. Less than a year later both my twin sister ( and her family ) and I owned our own place in Portugal, at half an hour driving distance.

My twin sister ( and her partner ) bought 2.5 acres of land and a small house and they now have a guest house there too.

I bought a little house with no land, but a peaceful mountain view from my balcony and plenty of nature nearby. ( it was exactly what I was looking for, a place to create, to find myself again, to rest ) I used the remainder of my money to renovate the house and invest in cryptocurrency.

Big hug,

Vincent

Ooh - I loved reading your response here, dear Vincent! I love your story of you and your twin sister finding your escape homes/ alternative homes... My dream home also came through inheritance from my mum... And I knew I'd never have been able to buy a home in Scotland - and ended up in Italy... I hope one day to travel more around Europe and to visit some eco/ permaculture communities in Spain and Portugal... Looking forward to meeting up for a cuppa one day, and to talk about these wonderful subjects in person! :-)