African musical beats. Festivals are best defined by music.

in DTubelast year


In this video I share with you music from my cultural festival called. Ekpe masquerade festival.

Music has been defined as a universal language. And I add culture is an art defined by music, language and art. Art is the mother of culture. Every culture is shows its glory through ceremonies and festivals. For this, I bring to you Ekpe Cultural festival of the Umuode Nsulu people of Isi ala Ngwa North Area of Abia state, Nigeria.

The ekpe is a masquerade festival held ones every two. it's held on the first Eke market day.
It's noteworthy at this point to state that in the Igbo calendar, there are only four days in a week.

This days are basically for market and traditional numbering system not a standard unit of measurement. Take note.
The four market days makes a topic for another day, let me dwell on the music and beats .

The music and beats and dance you see I. this video are not edited, I recorded this video using my android phone though the quality might not be so good but hope you manage it till I get a better device.

Hope you see the energy used to play these instruments, if you are not from the clan that plays this music for the community and for the masquerade you don't try coming close to touch during the festival but on a normal rehearsals anyone can learn.

Hope you enjoy the beat .


▶️ DTube