4000 Hours Watch Time YouTube

in DTube3 years ago (edited)


Let me show you how I got 4000 hours watch time. Do not skip ahead or speed up this video if you are serious about watch time as this video is packed with useful information from start to finish

On the 2nd of December 2020 I gained 4000 hours watch time on YouTube
Whoo hoo!

I didn't post this on the day that I got the 4000 hours watch time because YouTube takes a couple of days to confirm that the watch time hours are genuine.
So how do you get 4000 hours watch time?

Many people will tell you to do this or that but here on my channel you can see it for yourself and treat it like a case study. So take a bit of time and study what I did. You just have to do the work.

I started by pivoting my channel. You don't have to do that but by doing what I did you can see a very clear path to those 4000 hours watch time.

I started my new strategy and 76 videos later I hit the 4000 hours watch time threshold.
My watchtime increased by 75% during this 65 week period which is pretty amazing.

When you are looking at my videos. Do not dismiss videos with seemingly low view counts. It is the watch time metric that matters. Some of my videos have low view counts but 160% watch time which means that people watch them and then re watch another 60% of the same video.

Why bother getting 4000 hours watch time and a 1000 subscribers?

Well for this simple reasons. If you want to have some control over the ads that appear on your videos then you need to have 4000 hours watch time hours and 1000 subscribers

Plus you may earn some adsense

Remember that only public videos count towards watch time so any videos you have set to private or unlisted will not count towards your watch time goal.

In the past videos from creators who were not in the YouTube partner progam would not have adverts on their videos
This is a costly exercise for YouTube as they have to store all of these videos while earning nothing from them?

A recent change that youtube introduced, they decided to monetize all viable videos even from creators that had not meet the requirements to join the YT partner program.

Some people got very annoyed by this change but if you think about it from a business perspective it makes perfect sense
Youtube is a business not a charity


▶️ DTube
Sort:  

Just shared this to the dtube reddit page. There is nothing there? Are we not using reddit?

reddit is good for backlinking and creating karma there carry on with video creation just do your rotations with sharing more people post and upvote more content it gets created