Looking for posting guidance

Something that I have re-started recently is my #noloafingloseit series, and I'm looking for a community of supporters to keep me on track.

I'm a fan and follower of Peter Attia, the podcast he did with Tim Ferriss where he explained the centenarian Olympics really got me thinking about what I want to do in 50 years.

To that, it turns out my goals are very close to Peter's, be able to play with my grandkids (maybe great grandkids) and pick them up when they come running at me.

My first step to get there is to drop some of the unnecessary weight. I need to remove the excess load on my joints so I don't have to get new ones a couple times before then.

My plan

My plan is losely as follows:

  1. Drop at least 25kg from my current weight, while getting stronger.
  2. Start a movement routine that is very low impact (no running) and safe. This will likely include a lot of walking and biking
  3. Start seeing professionals about my body movement practices
  4. Get stronger and gain muscle mass that I can "lose" when I turn 50.

There is a lot more that goes into this, and I'm excited to find a community that is dedicated to this cause.

If this isn't the place for my #noloafingloseit series, no worries, just let me know in the comments @andrarchy.

Cheers,
NL

Sort:  

I'm in a similar position except the grandkids (49 years old, need to lose 15kg). @actifit encourages me to exercise.

I think this is a perfect place to post stuff like this! Thanks for sharing!

Great to hear!

Thanks!

I'm on a similar path, Trying to generally be more physically active than I have been over the past few years. Gradually improving my health rather than just letting it get worse and worse over time.