Reddit has become what it hated

Quite a random way how I stumbled upon this so I figured I'd show my steps before I get into the issue at hand.

I was browsing r/videos which somehow is still one of the few subreddits that allows direct sharing to youtube, anyway there was a random glitch and it started showing top posts from 5-6 years ago (the top-all time algo) kicked in half-way into my scroll of the daily top videos.

image.png

So scrolling some more, feeling nostalgic about some submissions I hadn't seen in quite a while as an avid Reddit user (especially before I found out about steem/hive) I found and remember this wholesome share:

image.png

I didn't re-watch it but I remembered how nice it was at the time to see this post trending, thousands of comments and millions of views to this little content creator of only 70 subscribers. Reddit's "hug of love" at the time as they used to call it. I decided to check how his recent videos have been doing, just curious if he continued creating content, if a lot of subscribers he got from Reddit back then stayed around, got him more views and possibly new subscribers, etc. After seeing that the video posted above was sitting at 17M views you can imagine what kind of life-changing revenue that may have created for this person.

Turns out he's still getting views and doing quite alright:

image.png

I even checked out his recent video and then cross-checked that bike he was reviewing on other reviews if it's something I should consider for my health. :P

Anyway, it got me thinking as to how Reddit was back then and what it has become now (mostly, although this subreddit does seem to have stayed true or not been strongarmed by admins or something to change their ways like others have).

I remember there were certain content creators back in the day who'd steal a lot of content and post them to Facebook when it first introduce adrevenue to content creators. I'm not really sure what they were called but most of them did some low effort garbage theft basically, stuff we on Hive would for sure downvote if we saw on trending and taking a lot of revenue.

Their basis would pretty much be, take a video from youtube, reddit or other platforms, most of the time being original content, preface it with a short clip of your dumb face saying something like "me when I am sad:" que full video of the other person then maybe add an outro or something. Boom 50M views and millions in adrevenue for having provided jack shit yourself.

This got brought up on Reddit and it sparked a lot of hate and debates, I think Facebook even took a stance on it and started demonetizing such content creators. The argument was pretty much that it was quite lazy editing, not really a "reaction" video, etc, and most of the time undeserving of such revenue. Who knows how these content creators even got their starting push to begin with, as I've said in the past and something that still stands true, a lot of views, traffic and engagement is cheap and easy to fake on web2. Wouldn't be surprised if this is how they get their start until people just follow because everyone else is and it takes over from there.

Now let me tell you how Reddit has evolved since then. I'm not exactly sure how it progressed this way or the exact steps of Reddit when it went public, etc, but it wouldn't surprise me if my suspicion is correct in that it's all about adrevenue, traffic and maintaining their high internet rank of usage.

So at one point Reddit kind of parted ways with imgur.com who was a big help for them starting out and decided to self-host. Suddenly you see a lot of the big subreddits not sharing to other well-established social media platforms or websites of artists, content creators, etc, but just upload and share to reddit directly. The crazy part to me, is that in many of these subreddits you're not even allowed to link to the artist/original creator in the comments and I do have my suspicions on that as well.

Basically what I think is happening here is "adrevenue is king", so let's say if what happened in the example used in the beginning of the post were to happen again today here's what would occur instead:

Reddit user downloads the video, uploads it to Reddit, gives it a title and hits post. Redditors consume the content, generate comments and the sharer may not even be the original creator of the video. Nothing changes from Reddit's perspective but a lot changes from the content creator's.

Let's take a look at the difference.

Reddit now has even more consumers, even more engagement than they did 5-6 years ago. Let's say this content creator has created something amazing that has taken him a really long time and effort so the praise and attention he's getting is well deserved. The shitty thing here now is that all this attention, views, praise all gets locked within Reddit, the creator won't see a dime from it unless people for some reason decide to donate or ask for the content creator's name or link (which often isn't allowed to be posted). The content creators loses out on potential millions of views, thousands of subscribers and an incalculable amount of future adrevenue had all of the previous happened like back then.

You may start to wonder, why would Reddit do this, though? Why self-host which is expensive when they could just let people link to youtube, Instagram, artstation, websites, etc? Well, I think the answer is pretty simple, if you go to Youtube to check out this video rather than watching it embeddable on Reddit, you may get tricked into checking out another video, staying longer on youtube and potentially forgetting to go back to Reddit. Woops, that's one brain lost that could've generated us more adrevenue and our shareholders more fuel for their yachts! Can't have that!

You really gotta imagine that this must be something they've calculated that they rather self-host than lose out on potential consumers this way, the adrevenue has to outweigh the hosting costs and they come at the cost of the content creator.

Reddit even has "original content" from time to time but it's not as popular, you can maybe imagine why. Why the fuck would I upload my content on their hosting on their website while having their moderators tell me I can't post a link to maybe get some traffic or followers who are consuming and liking my work to keep seeing it and supporting me with their attention and views. I have to keep posting my work on Reddit forever like this and only getting a fraction of the traffic I deserve? All other socials are starting to do the same?

I mean, at the end of the day, even if the OC video gets a nice amount of traction on Youtube itself before it gets shared in other socials by other people for useless internet points, it'll never do as well as it could have had it not been shared on the other socials or had it been shared properly by linking to the actual video on the platform he posted it to to get him the views and revenue he deserved. Instead you'll now have people who'd jump from Reddit to Youtube and see that video in recommendations and think "oh I've already seen it" or "I've already reddit, eheheheh", fuck you. This shit really makes me angry cause it's like these giants in their competitiveness with each other to attempt to keep traffic within and greed are fucking over the actual content creators more and more.

You may think I'm exaggerating but I've experienced this myself first hand, my girlfriend @hiddenblade shared a piece of art she once created in the biggest art subreddit by uploading the piece on their hosting service and it got to trending and she figured she could include a comment with a link to her insta and hive (steem at the time) but was told it wasn't fucking allowed and that they deleted the comment.

Having said that it doesn't seem like it's a platform wide strongarm, not sure how moderators are incentivized to uphold these kinds of rules or what the mods themselves would even gain or lose from that, so all hope isn't lost in regards to @poshtoken on Reddit. But they sure don't make it easy. A website that was created around sharing content of the internet, discussing it, evaluating it with their own system of upvotes and downvotes don't fucking let you share content outside of it anymore. What a joke.

Here on Hive we may get downvoted for not sourcing an image or video to the original creator, or to at least make sure we credit them properly while the rest of #web2 is just evolving backwards due to greed and maximization of the traffic they've garnered over the years. If anything I want Hive to get big for this factor alone, to value the people that deserve it in the best ways it can and fuck over those greedy middlemen company shareholder dickheads.

Sort:  

I never used Reddit much before, but ever since I joined Hive, I never looked back! I only use web2 social media very rarely now and mostly for connecting with friends I don't see in a long time.

I've uninstalled Facebook from my phone more than a year ago. And on Instagram although I still have it on my phone, I go there very few times. It's such a different world than what we find here on Hive that I see no motivation or reason to use web2 socials anymore 🤷‍♀️

This shit is going to change soon as more people realise how meritocracy feels like and the middle man/women's who just steal content will eventually lose most of their success which wasn't even deserved in the first place!

I'm not really sure what they were called

if I understand what you mean, maybe we in italy today call them freebooters and we mostly refer to those who take content from youtube or twitch and repost it for example on tiktok without any permission from the original content creator

Yeah tiktok doesn't seem to care how it fucks over the original creator, ugh.

Yes, there should be much more control over content. Instead you end up with freebooters instead of content creators! And all this seems to be 'legal'

Well that’s the kicker, man, companies don’t care about shit but the bottom line. I’m looking for a chance to speak at a blockchain conference in my city, ETHBoston, and it’s the basis of my segment. Web2 exploits while web3 aligns- cannibalizing their own content so it doesn’t lead to other platforms makes sense for them. They don’t value cross-pollination and certainly don’t want monetization of anyone, save for on their platform.

To that point, I’m surprised hey don’t have some algorithm set up so certain things are seen first. Doing research, I learned Twitch only gives half of a Twitch Prime Sub, and the lowest Patreon tier takes 5% + processing fees for hosting your content.

I don’t know what to do! Oh wait, yeah I do, it’s to stay my black ass on HIVE, lol

You said it well.

A website that was created around sharing content of the internet, discussing it, evaluating it with their own system of upvotes and downvotes don't fucking let you share content outside of it anymore. What a joke.

Yep. Money speaks, man. A company (like Reddit) starts with good ideals but after it grows a bit the corporate interests get ahold of it and the goals morphs into make as much money as possible regardless of if that means screwing the users or not. I can't think of a company immune from this cycle. The only solution to this problem is something outside of it, like Hive.

It's like everything wrong with most gaming companies these days as well.

I assume St--mit was named after reddit with an intention of providing an alternative. I have never been a big reddit user, but there are some communities I look at now and then. It is a top 20 site, so has a lot of eyes. It's just inevitable that people will steal content when there is money to be made. It happens on Hive, but often gets spotted and dealt with. I just wonder if that can scale up if a million more people join up. It's going to bring challenges.

I would say that it is a mere act of weakness and narcissism to believe that starting to embrace everything would make them something much, much bigger: Completely forgetting how uncomfortable this can be for all users. I'm not someone who used Reddit until I came to Hive and met people like you, it's a good platform, but being Venezuelan makes it quite uncomfortable to use it (I don't know if you know, but there are many ISPs that blocked Reddit for Venezuela XD).

I guess that's what happens when you try to eat more than you can swallow. Wanting to monopolize their own platform and ignoring the importance of the rest of the social networks is a pretty stupid move, but they'll learn the hard way :P

 last year  

I never got into Reddit myself but I know some people who have. It definitely sounds like some circle jerk bullshit to keep all traffic on their site no matter what. It’s pretty ridiculous I think but when these things get bought and sold on the stock market, not sure if Reddit does, then everything of value to the users goes out the window and the vulture capital model takes over forcing people to do things they wouldn’t do in the first place. Pretty shitty.

Web 2 Is slowly dying. Thats why instead of evolving they are devolving. See Facebook , Twitter , Instagram.

Ah, they basically stunt the growth of these OC creators to line their pockets with internet money. There are many forms of slavery in the digital world and that type of thing is actually one of them! Users should have the freedom to link to other socials instead of making reddit an island.

😉😎🤙 nice. glad that kid got some 'hug luv' :)

that's so true how lot of people just use other people's stuff to make their 'content' :P

what reason did they give for denying hidden blade trying to link to her other accounts? that's really uncool. :(

Just that it's in their subreddit rules, why is unclear.

I never understood this. It's like they are trying to make you forget about other platforms or something. This bullshit even invites the stealing of content. It sometimes feels like these sites are run by monkeys.

Never been on Reddit, it just seemed too much😂😂😂
After finding Hive, I kissed Facebook goodbye. I still find some relatively funny stuff on Instagram though.
Hive is probably my most used social media platform now though 😂😂✨♥️

I never understood how to use reddit, and i find it boring so... 😀

Congratulations @acidyo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 340000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 342000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!