I MISS HER

whatsapp_image_2022_03_12_at_9.46.00_pm_1_.jpeg

Ukraine was my home for over 6 years. She gave me an environment to grow, security and the most beautiful family.
Ukraine was my safe place.
I am yet to find the right words to express how I feel about what is going on in Ukraine today. I left Nigeria for Ukraine August 2015, I was very young, naive, innocent and enthusiastic. On my arrival to Boryspil airport, Kiev, there was an extreme gush of excitement that radiated like rays of sunshine out of me. Finally, I am here. The heart of Europe
Ukraine is not an english speaking country, their basic language is Ukrainian and Russian, as a native english speaker, my first scare was, Will I ever be able to learn or speak as fluent as her people. On my way out of the airport, a young and wildly looking Ukrainian guy walked up to me and said "Ти красива" and I smiled not knowing what it meant, It could have simply meant idiot and I will be smiling but who cares, the young man gave me a darling smile after all.
My friend had booked the next available bus to take me to Vinnytsia from Kiev. Oh!!! My adorable, calm and glamorous city.
Vinnytsia is a small city in west- central Ukraine with a population of 370,834 (2017). This is where I spent the last 6 years of my life studying at Vinnytsia national medical university(VNMU).whatsapp_image_2022_03_12_at_10.24.37_pm.jpeg

VNMU is the one of the best medical universities in Ukraine. My first scare as an international student was the language barrier but all that scare resolved when I attended my first class. My anatomy teacher spoke english excellently and was very keen on knowing his students by name. He had a calm and welcoming smile and he loved his students graciously. The anatomy department had enough cadavers for students to study with and we were allowed to study in the departments after school hours. We had a world class hospital named the National Pirogov Hospital just beside the school and over 10 hospitals affiliated for clinical practice. whatsapp_image_2022_03_15_at_12.33.14_pm.jpeg

In VNMU, we had just 2 choices, you are either going to be the best doctor or you are the best doctor, lol.

My landlords were the best, they treated me like I was their daughter, with unwavering kindness and compassion, the months my rent were not forthcoming on time, they simply understood and gave me as much time as I needed to pay up. I had the most concerned neighbours, an old lady that gave me pancakes and mandarins every time she set her eyes on me, she was flabbergasted at my black and confident beauty I guess. I know I am pretty, thank you.whatsapp_image_2022_03_12_at_9.48.59_pm.jpeg

Transportation was cheap and discounted for all students so I used that opportunity and traveled to as many cities in Ukraine as I could with my most adorable friendswhatsapp_image_2022_03_15_at_12.48.06_pm.jpeg

whatsapp_image_2022_03_15_at_12.50.18_pm.jpeg

whatsapp_image_2022_03_15_at_12.50.20_pm_1_.jpeg

whatsapp_image_2022_03_15_at_12.50.21_pm.jpeg

whatsapp_image_2022_03_15_at_12.50.21_pm_1_.jpeg

whatsapp_image_2022_03_15_at_12.50.22_pm_1_.jpeg

whatsapp_image_2022_03_15_at_12.50.23_pm.jpeg

whatsapp_image_2022_03_15_at_12.50.22_pm.jpeg

I made wildly insane memories in Ukraine. Ukraine gave me a home, she was never racist, she never saw my skin colour or my hair texture. I worked in different companies through my years of study, all my employers were very respectful Ukrainians, I taught children how to speak and write english . I am a product of a Ukrainian school and I pray with all the strength that I have left in me that things get better soon. I love Ukraine.
whatsapp_image_2022_03_15_at_1.04.41_pm.jpeg

whatsapp_image_2022_03_15_at_1.04.42_pm_1_.jpeg

whatsapp_image_2022_03_15_at_1.04.42_pm.jpeg

whatsapp_image_2022_03_15_at_1.04.43_pm.jpeg

I still have friends studying in Ukraine, I still have families I met and grew to love, I still have my employers in Ukraine and all I can really do is hope , she gets better soon.
This war .

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

It goes to show that war is often a bunch of crazy ass people who are vying to control others whatever the cost. The normal, everyday people are the ones caught up in it all and end up losing the most in many regards.