You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Another post about beneficiary usage which turned into something else

I saw a comment today on a post and thought "what a shit thing to say to someone' I really wanted to downvote that comment just to say I really didn't agree with their way of thinking but I didn't as I'm just a little fish and they had a big rep! A downvote for me would wipe out my whole post lol - I guess I need to grow a pair if I want to have say!!

Sort:  

A downvote for me would wipe out my whole post lol - I guess I need to grow a pair if I want to have say!!

There are parts of the social system an individual is given liberty to choose their battles. When I can't be open and express disagreement on anyone, that's when I know I have treated them as above me. The social rewards on the posts are nice things to have but you don't need them as you can earn just fine with curating content or increasing your stake and delegating passively. I'd like to think decentralization means everyone exercising their freedom of speech and etc but then when these social rewards are tied to the consequences of not being able to earn anything, that says volumes that it's really about the rewards rather than the free speech.

I hadn't thought of it like they were above me but now you mention that I suppose that's true to a certain extent... I have always been a peacekeeper and don't like to cause conflict which limits what I say of my own beliefs :)

I agree with what @artofadamada said in the reply to you, to add to that, if someone does go out and retaliate based on that, someone usually notices, shares it around and it might reach a bigger user sooner or later. There's always bigger fish around and lucky for us the bigger ones aren't all assholes on this decentralized internet today so they may help out.

Yip that made total sense to me ... The peacekeeper in me will probably always win out though. It's good to know there's still non assholes around :D And thank you... :)