You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Flat pack: The ultimate relationship test

This post made me laugh. We have only one IKEA in Bangkok and Chiang Mai moms (800km away0 have been known to pool orders to reduce shipping costs. And then the social media posts start - about the screws don't quite fit, or there aren't enough, or the shelves aren't quite straight. LOL. The tragedy here is that IKEA stuff doesn't cope with the damp well in the rainy season - the mdf soaks up humidity and mold spores and it barely lasts 2 seasons. I think they only stay in business here due to optimistic-nostalgic-naïve foreigners. LOL.

I have painful Ikea assembly memories. Many. Clearly my husband choice needs to notch up a few gears.

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Oh yes, I'd say the humidity doesn't do the IKEA stuff much good at all! Opening up the box to warped and swollen panels wouldn't be my idea, or ikea of fun! Small play on words there. my brother lives in FNQ and he bought a thing once...Regretted it a couple months later when it fell apart - Vowed never again. We have reasonable success with it down south though.

It's a good thing there all those optimistic-nostalgic-naïve foreigners up there huh? (For IKEA at least.)