You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The “Anything You Want” Fvckery…

in Rant, Complain, Talk4 months ago

I pretty much assume anything that is flashy and in your face is probably a bunch of crap. I think I would prefer to focus on the past works if I were looking for some kind of self help path. Religious texts while open to interpretation and many people take them with a grain of salt do have some good fundamentals. I remember reading Henry David Thoreau back when I was younger and while it didn't connect with me back then, I'd be curious to see how it lands now that I am older. I was at a family gathering one time and my wife's cousin was dating a lady that was a "life coach". We started having a conversation with her and by the end of it my brother in law had basically dismantled her. Not intentionally or out of spite, but as he started asking questions, it became apparent, her whole act was just a bunch of fluff.