Don't Share Everything

in Rant, Complain, Talk12 days ago

Hi fellow Hiveians,

Today I wanted to talk about how important it is to not share every single detail about our lives, and recently what it meant.

IMG_2475.jpg

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Don't Share Everything

I think it's important, and perhaps somewhat odd, to say that we shouldn't be sharing every single detail of what we do on a daily basis, on the internet. I think it's especially evident because of this blockchain stuff, being permanent and all as long as the chain is operational.

IMG_2497.jpg

With our recent trip that we took, a much needed vacation, I took lots of pictures and had a wonderful experience with my wife and son. There were a lot of really cool and interesting parts of the vacation as well as a lot of just normal stuff. I am making it a point though to only share some of that vacation, and not go into dozens of posts or too much information on what we did, where we went and all that. I think it's important that we have limits!

These days, everyone is sharing nearly every little detail about their lives. There can be some cool aspects of it for sure.. but there is also quite a bit of stuff that's just stupid and quite frankly, improper when it comes to putting our lives on the internet. With the advent of quite a bit of video media, recording some quick videos of the places people go and do things at is ubiquitous it seems.

IMG_2190.jpeg

I think there is starting to be a trend in the opposite direction though, and I think that's good and healthy! Where we certainly have our phones with us, take pictures and can share some of the pictures but for the most part, it all remains off social media and in our personal spaces. This may be something I am hoping it's larger than it is, but I know several people who don't share these types of things on social media which was a good thing to hear.

The trip that we took was a nice family one, we had a few weeks of relaxing and adventures all around an area and we enjoyed ourselves but I don't think I need to share every detail of that time away, especially as my son gets older. I know it may seem odd that I want to protect him from a lot of what goes on on the internet but there is a considerable amount of crap on it, things that he shouldn't be exposed to. He will at one point but I am keeping him away from it as long as I can. There is also the notion that I don't want all of the things we do as a family to be on there, which kicks up the internet stuff a notch given this is blockchain and it remains on it until it would be shut down, which is unlikely in the near term.

IMG_2475.jpg

I think it felt pretty good for me to go into the vacation knowing that I would be certainly taking pictures and documenting the things that we did, but I knew that there were only a few of the things and places that we went to that I would be posting, keeping the majority of it offline and in private.

What about you, do you purposefully keep some things private that you may have talked about or posted before? Why? I'd love to hear in the comments!

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

-CmplXty. Real human written content, never AI. All pictures are mine unless otherwise stated

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 2,900 PRE tokens, with a market value of $180.27. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link below and spread the word!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


Image source

Sort:  

Hmm... Keeping some aspects of your life off social media is really important. So many various artists have lost their lives simply because of this. I think we're in dangerous times and we absolutely need to be careful of the things we post out there.

I'm glad you're protective of your son and doing what needs to be done as a father. Nice one ✨

Greetings!

 12 days ago  

The most important job in my life is to be as good of a father for my son as I can be! It's a difficult world out there and he will deal with it one day, but I am trying to build him as much as I can to be able to do it successfully.

It's crucially important, especially in the advent of AI, to keep as much as we need to off the internet. The more we put out there, the more it feeds the AI beast and could be used against us when we least expect it.

Agree! We should always find balance on what we share on the internet, pick the one that you are comfortable sharing with and you think that won't hurt you in the future.

 12 days ago  

Absolutely! It's very important to balance this, especially in the days of the advent of AI in our faces. Eventually it WILL be used against us, not may. We have to prepare ourselves as best we can.

It's a bit scary, but the bottomline is be careful and use your data responsibly.

 12 days ago  

Indeed! Data is the new oil, and it is being bottled up and used at the same rate as we burn petroleum products!

Nice analogy haha, thanks for reminder about keeping balance of sharing data haha. I almost forgot it actually.

I really hate it when influencers share locations, but I'm not too bothered on HIVE as hardly anyone reads it 😂😂😂 ... But if course 80 percent of my life you don't see!

 12 days ago  

Hahaha yeah I know in the grand scheme of things, we don't have a massive amount of people on Hive but that could change! I think it's important with the permanence of the chain though, that we keep it in mind what we share.

It's good we don't see most of your life, same here! It's important and will be a good thing to instill in our children and youngest generation.

I totally agree. We should not share every little detail about our life on the internet, especially things that might give bad actors the push to go after you or your home. Well said, man.

 12 days ago  

Yup absolutely! I’m a big fan of live in the moment and wait until after to share a few pictures but you don’t have to give out everything. We need a little modesty!

So true. Maybe people are just excited to share the experience in real time with an audience, too eager in my opinion.

Sharing more probably feels like adding more personality to the post, so they probably thought. I personally don't share anything I want my grandchildren and the next gen of my kin to see if they browsed their ancestor's blockchain activity.

 12 days ago  

Yeah it's definitely adding some personality to a post which is good, but at the same time we have to carefully identify what we are posting.

I think if my son does end up reading my posts and account, I would like to say that he gets to know me more through this lens, but at the proper balance of personal and lack of personal details.

'Names have been changed to protect the guilty' sums up my attitude nicely I believe. I know what I can do with publicly available info, don't want to give anyone any help.

 12 days ago  

Hahaha yeah for sure! It's pretty wild what we can do with some info. We recently did some investigation for an issue we were dealing with and it was pretty wild what we found through following the trail of breadcrumbs available on the web.

It is true that not all things are meant to be shared on the Internet, but things that are should be shared.

 12 days ago  

I thought I'd share with you the fact that I agree, internet oversharing is fraught with danger.

Anyway, just thought I'd share.

 12 days ago (edited) 

Thanks for sharing but not over-sharing on my post about limiting the sharing and the dangers of sharing!

There are things that should be kept private and not shared on social media or the online world at large. For me, it's mostly this aspect of privacy, having my own space in the real world outside the reach of this gigantic virtual world :)

 12 days ago  

Yeah absolutely! It's important to keep our real-world space as obscured as we can from the galactic-feel of the web, with how large it is comparatively.

There are some people who you can tell what they are doing at the moment and how their lives has been going because of what they post online. I’m not against posting online but there should be limits to all the things that we do

 12 days ago  

There definitely should be limits to the things that we share! Sadly, the people who put their entire lives out there are the ones who are victims of identity theft and other big issues.

 12 days ago  

It's intriguing how we privacy awareness is increasing but more and more people so candidly sharing every little things online. There are things that perhaps shouldn't be shared publicly even if it's being "Raw" and honest.

 12 days ago  

Yeah I think one of the issues is that a lot of people still have trust in others. The people who are privacy minded do not trust others LOL and for good reason! There are a lot of crazy ass people out there looking to steal our identity and money!

Plus, the less we feed the AI beast, the better!

During my travel blogger era before Hive, I was tempted to do the influencer-type of image posting my life everywhere on Instagram, Tiktok or YouTube. But the internet connection in the Philippines is so damn expensive. Hahaha! Good thing I never pursued that way and I just enjoyed every once in a while posting on FB when it is convenient to post. Also, as a family, we've been to several places so far and I am too lazy to upload all my photos on FB.