Password Problems

in Rant, Complain, Talklast year

Hi fellow Hiveians,

Today I wanted to rant a little bit about forgetting to write down a damn password lol

IMG_0570.jpeg

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Password Problems

One of the things that I've been falling victim to lately is the things that I did many years ago, that are now catching up with me and causing me some grief.

Many years ago, I got into the habit of creating accounts in places and using one common form of a password that I've thought up over the years, except making some changes to it along the way for different things. What the issue I have here is that I can't remember what iteration of the password I used hahaha.

IMG_0736.jpeg

I know many people will say "just use a password manager/generator" and I will say I've thought about it. What I don't like though is the insistence and reliance we have on various forms of technology for some simple things such as creating or remembering a password. I know that it gives hackers a better chance of getting into an account if you generate your own password but at the same time, I have to draw the line somewhere between manual and automation!

When we recently went to look at a new car to purchase, recently meaning several months ago, the dealer was saying how all of these fancy features were the bees knees. I had a disagreement with him and said that I absolutely do not want those features in my vehicle because it's one more thing to break or have go wrong that is completely unnecessary in my opinion. He looked at me like I was a weirdo and then asked if I also used a phone with a cord attached to the wall. I didn't quite appreciate his humor as it was not well thought out and we didn't end up buying the car from them that day that's for sure.

The point I'm making though is that we shouldn't use technology as a crutch because that creates the lazy and dependent slobs in the motorized chairs that Volkswagen just rolled out (pun intended :D) in the animation movie, though the name escapes me. It's not a long way before we are required to use automation for this stuff and I think that's atrocious quite frankly.

IMG_0570.jpeg

We need to have limits to the encroaching technocracy on our lives otherwise it will not stop and life as we know it will be changed for the worse, not the better. I know some, or most, might think that this is an insane argument to have and try to align these two random factors as ones that are connected but it's a slippery slope that we are walking on right now. The technology we have available for us is amazing that's for sure however we need to be able to have a separation of that technology and our human selves and brains. If we don't have that separation then the chances that we have to maintain that separation are going to decrease over time.

I am not one that does not want or balks at what some call progress, far from it considering the work that I do. What I don't like though is the trend that people are headed where they are getting mentally and physically lazy to use their brains to be able to generate something as simple as a password and trying to add some helpful complicating factors to the password.

At the end of the day though, none of that matters if you don't write the password down LOL as I have mistakenly not done! I won't lose sleep over it in the long run as it just makes it a little bit harder to manage some stuff but I have definitely moved towards updating my practices around this and keeping these passwords in a much better spot so that I can retrieve them when needed. More often I am retrieving the passwords because I have forgotten them but that's usually with accounts that I use sparingly like once a month or less, so it's natural to not remember the password in that circumstance!

IMG_0594.jpeg

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 2,720 PRE tokens, with a market value of $380.27. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link below and spread the word!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


Image source

Sort:  

Sorry mate but you really need an online password manager like Last Pass. Sure, for non online things write em down but what's the point in filling head with that shit when there's an app/extension to do it for ya?

 last year  

Hahah I get the ease of use but I'm oldschool and especially when it comes to passwords. These companies are just fucking lazy with security! One of the password provider apps last year got hacked and leaked everyone's passwords I think. For me that's just not worth it :D.

I don't try to remember all of them like the posting key, which it makes sense to have the keychain app take care of that for me but for other passwords, I feel safer keeping it old school.

I also used a phone with a cord attached to the wall

What a ways to kill a deal. LOL
He seems to have to laugh at his own humor. hahaha

I even forgot the password for some of the site that I used the most, which is why I keep the password saved into my browser, kind of vulnerable tough.

Anyway the total payout from your posts is awesome. 15K HP in total.
!LUV

 last year  

Nice I just saw that as well that's great! Feels good to be able to hit that milestone! Triple dolphin I think just about lol

The salesman definitely didn't have the slick nature to not mess that one up. I can get a light joke towards something like that but he was going heavy on it.

I'm hoping that it's not going to come back and bite me one day, but I am feeling pretty good about the complexity of my passwords versus a few million other people lol. I think I'd fare 50% better or more if someone was trying to go hard at my account password for something. Eventually it would break but most places lock you out at that point so I'm not too nervous.

 last year  Reveal Comment

Congratulations @cmplxty! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 15000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 16000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 12
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-11 - Winners List
Be ready for the last Hive Power Up Month of the year!

I'm gonna be honest.. I'm at the point where I'm seriously considering a password manager. I have multiple versions of the same +ish password (at least a certain combi) but the fact is the number of accounts online have gotten out of hand.. You're now required to have a password for damn near everything. So even if I feel slightly old by forgetting sometimes, i also can't blame myself cause who can remember 25 passwords?!?!

Which brings me to the point of writing it down somewhere. 1) I refuse(d) for the longest time because it reminds me of my aunties that I set up email accounts for 😂... 2) I knowwww hackers are a much bigger threat but I never wrote it down because if some 'burgler' steal my notebook he just has access to everything...
And 3) 20+ accounts.. That's more of a printed out excel sheet 😂😂😂

I must agree on the potential of a brain dead society.. 😄
People have all sorts of gadgets in their cars and use them, but a couple item that have been standard for decades they often forget about: indicators and brakes.. 😁
And, yes, I am a walker and cyclist too so I get to feel the ignorance.. lol

I've also been trying to keep on top of passwords for years, but I'm coming to terms with the fact, that it gets impossible...
Thanks for sharing!