You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Think With Caffeine #50: Delete Discord Messages With A Script

in Rant, Complain, Talk3 years ago

Thanks for checking out and using the community! Really glad that I was able to give you a space to post about this.

I too have been very conscious of privacy and what I share versus what I don't. I have had some missteps for sure and recently fell victim to an unfortunate scenario of blockchain permanence here but it wasn't egregious or that bad. Something I wasn't glad to have stuck but water under the bridge.

I as well find it remarkable that people freely and knowingly share every single detail of their lives on the internet, pictures and all. People are even sharing their health information and stuff on here! It's wild, honestly. Not something I would be doing but to each their own.

I thankfully never really got into things like Discord. I used to do a lot of gaming and stuff so I'm used to the environment and the chats but with the limited amount of time I have, I would rather be on-chain instead of in Discord and chat features. Plus all of that is stored and absolutely used against folks. It would be nice if we ever got a good, encrypted feature to work on Hive but I know there is a lot to that so thankfully the BeeChat on PeakD is a huge improvement.

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

It would be nice if we ever got a good, encrypted feature to work on Hive but I know there is a lot to that so thankfully the BeeChat on PeakD is a huge improvement.

I have not looked into Beechat. I wonder if it's encrypted or not encrypted. I suppose, even if it is not, it's a long way to go for them.

 3 years ago  

Beechat is incorporated into the PeakD site under the chat tab. It’s really helpful and is easy! It’s not encrypted right now but I think they are trying to work on it. I suggested tying it to our memo key on hive bug don’t know how hard that is.

 3 years ago  

Oh yes, I know that feature and used it but what I meant is that I didn't really check further about more information or updates of Beechat.