Sort:  

There may be that old conspiracy about Alan Turing and the poisoned apple too. Who can say on these things.

Excellent read. Enjoyed every word.

Their actual original logo was Newton under the apple tree, so I always assumed that's where the bitten apple came from, and also a nod to the Beatles of course. I hadn't heard the bit about Alan Turing and the poisoned apple. I'll have to look that up!

Thanks for the comment!

!PIZZA

Hahaha, if I'm honest, my first reaction to seeing it was an eye roll, "hear we go, more people jumping on the band wagon." Then I thought, oh, wait, nevermind haha

I like that, news-fast haha you do right, I try not to think about anything going on now. I went through a time where I would read about everything going on in the world, and I was misreble. Constantly thinking, "god, we have to do something about all this." Then I realised nothing can be done, I had to justify it by saying "I'm not apethic, I just don't see the point of winding myself up about all the bad stuff in the world. I'd rather not think about, because the stress is hurting me more than fixing the problem."

Personally, the apple logo could go either way. You can get called woke as an insult or get called woke as a compliment. Or the third option, someone might see it and say, "haha nice, O.G apple."

Everything is militerised now and everyone is ready to fight and argue with strangers in public over their "beliefs." Even if those beliefs are fighting over which new movie is the best. There's people who argue and say, "you have to see this movie, support them for being progressive!" Yes, the hollywood machine really cares about you as an individual.

Who spreads this crap..? Oh yeah, the media, so they can help to sell tickets, products and rip people off under the banner of spreading awerness, and being inclusive, while also helping to rile people up and make sure they're ready to fight for their brands, identity and beliefs lol

I guess it's human nature turned up to 11, the algorthim probably is a bad thing because it shows us what we read or watch most, keeping us in a constant cycle.

You're right though, people get more clicks from anger, it's pretty much, the easiest emotional response to trigger in someone. It's like YouTube even, I've noticed a lot in the last couple of years, if there's a new film, game, or tv show out, people tear it to shreds, because it's what gets the clicks. Everyone just wants to be angry nowadays it seems.

Great post, plenty to think about and talk about, I better stop or I'l have to write one myself hahaha

!PIZZA !LOLZ

I'd rather not think about, because the stress is hurting me more than fixing the problem."

Exactly! That's not apathy. It is because we care too much and so we have to look away for sanity.

I guess it's human nature turned up to 11, the algorthim probably is a bad thing because it shows us what we read or watch most, keeping us in a constant cycle.

Yep. Humans falling into tribes is natural enough, but for most of modern history history we have tried to reduce that tendency. The opinion news of the past 20 years really reversed that, and social media has really accelerated it. It goes to 11, indeed.

Great post, plenty to think about and talk about

Thanks for reading and the great comment!

!PIZZA

Absolutely! We'd all love to be in a position to change stuff, but really, most of us don't have that ability or reach, so the main thing we can do is focus on our lives and the people we love. I read this book called The Subtle Art of Not Giving A F*ck. It was entraining and really highlighted that kind of attitude in a funny way.

Yeah man, it's toxic and it's easy to get caught up in it when we're being barraged with it at all hours each day. I remember hearing someone talk about a similar thing before. They said something along the lines of, when you have an issue in your life, it's like your mind zooms in and you can't tackle it with a clear mind. But, when you zoom out and step away for some breathing room, it is much easier to navigate it. I've always tried to keep that in my mind after hearing it.

You're welcome, have a great day, and thank you!

!PIZZA

I read this book called The Subtle Art of Not Giving A F*ck. It was entraining and really highlighted that kind of attitude in a funny way.

I've heard of that book many times now. I should give it a look.

 last year  Reveal Comment

Great response. I was flabbergasted about it too - firstly, it is so ridiculous that the LGBTQI community has a monopoly on rainbows AND why believe believe they have this monopoly, and two, mountain out of molehill much, and I'm sure it's the media jumping on a tiny story to create outrage as usual.

Then - and now I've started, haha - there's nothing wrong with being 'woke' per se - surely it means resistant to mainstream oppressive narratives that NEED to be subverted, questioned, kicked to the curb in an age where we are resisting the oppressions of the past. I utterly agree that the extremism of the woke movement is worth resisting too - but like you, I believe any kind of extremism is a bit fucked up anyway and often doesn't listen or create meaningful dialogue to address the complexities of the issues it purports to face.

AND ANOTHER THING! I actually hate the logo, if I cared enough to critique (and I had that album on vinyl, or my Dad did haha, so by rights it's also mine) - it's the prism that makes the rainbow, and there's no prism here.

AND - haha - wtf that guy calling you out about the apple logo. I think support of the LGBTQI movement ANYWAY is important as it forces people to question their own lack of support, understanding, whatever. A bit of solidarity goes a long way.

Anyway, loved your unpacking of this 'news' event. I was seriously just about to put a prismic rainbow sticker of mountains on the Def so I can get rainbows all over the inside of it when the sun shines through. No wokeness. No anything. Just rainbows coz they are rainbows, and who wouldn't just love that!

Yeah, you're right, being woke isn't bad in and of itself. I think it has a bad image because of the excesses of the movement, but the idea by itself is fine. Like you said, some things need to be resisted/subverted/questioned. I may have put that badly in my piece.

Yeah, I don't love the logo. It's not bad, but definitely not good either. Looks more like something an intern whipped up in an afternoon and the guys gave it a thumbs up because, well, it's only a logo, so why care too much, eh?

Thanks for the great comment!

!LUV

 last year  Reveal Comment

I had forgotten about the rainbow apple logo! You unlocked some memories for me 😂 !LOLZ Totally agreed on the news. I check the news once a week, outside of directly googling things I hear about secondhand. I actually think I may be more informed now than when I woke each morning to read over the headlines 🤷‍♀ 🤣 !PIZZA

Rainbow Apple logo forever!

 last year  Reveal Comment
 last year  

It’s kind of funny, for what ever reason I highly dislike Pink Floyd. I don’t like their sound and I can’t get past it. I enjoy bands like Zeppelin and The Stones among other but Floyd was never on my list of things to listen to and enjoy. I know a lot of people love them and their dark side of the moon album is a hit.

I despise the news and everything about it. I don’t give it a lick of attention either, because it’s all horse shit and largely useless information that has no affect on my day what so ever. Fuck em and their bullshit agendas.

I despise the news and everything about it. I don’t give it a lick of attention either, because it’s all horse shit and largely useless information that has no affect on my day what so ever. Fuck em and their bullshit agendas.

haha nicely put 😂 I completely agree.

Yeah, I can totally get you about Pink Floyd. If you don't like prog, you probably won't like Floyd. See me? I love Led Zep, especially their more folk-ish songs. But the Stones... except for a handful of songs, I never could really get into them. Go figure.

 last year (edited) Reveal Comment