Do You Tolerate AI Generated Content in This Platform?

Do You Tolerate AI Generated Content on This Platform?

August 27, 2023.

I had a hectic week. I even had to work yesterday which was a Saturday. Even though I just worked in the morning, I got so tired that I slept at least a couple of hours in the afternoon. I guess, my body was trying to recover from the physical stress incurred during the week. I wanted to write an article about our weekend getaway last week, but I could not get myself to start writing.

This morning, though still a bit drowsy, I wanted to start writing. I thought, to get my brain started, I'd read a few articles first in readcash and Hive (via Ecency). I opened ReadCash first.

A title caught my attention. It was about a topic related to my work. When I started reading it though, the content was "too technical". I don't feel that the author was even connected to it.

I copied a big part of the article and ran it on zero-got ( https://zerogpt.com). My gut feeling was right.

The thing is, this is not the first AI-generated article I encountered this week. I think this is the third and they were uploaded by different authors. The other two were about 45% to 70% AI-generated. Well, at least the authors tried to add some of their thoughts or perhaps made a little effort to rephrase some parts.

What I Felt.

What do you think I felt about these articles?

Ever since I started writing to earn online, I have been fighting against plagiarism. I caught even one author copying my whole article without even acknowledging my original work. Good thing, the admins removed the plagiarized content.

When I joined readcash, a lot of members expressed their disgust with plagiarized content as well. Sadly, you can't fully get rid of them. There will always be people who want to earn some quick bucks without exerting so much effort.

Recently, the concerns about plagiarized content have climbed up a notch. Now, the supposed-to-be "writers" use ChatGPT to generate a whole article and post it as their own!

Old timers in readcash would remember that the reason Rusty (aka @therandomrewarder) stopped giving tips is because it fails to filter out AI-generated content. This is unfair to us who spend a lot of time composing an article. Some would even spend a lot of time doing some research before writing. So, in December last year Rusty bid goodbye. In his article "My last tip" ( https://read.cash/@TheRandomRewarder/my-last-tip-or-is-it-803e2773), Rusty stated the price of generating an article is almost zero.

Rusty came back, fortunately for us, and started giving tips again. However, the amount of tips is just a fraction of what we used to receive. Unfortunately, after the word got out that Rusty started giving tips again no matter how small, plagiarized and AI-generated content started popping up again. Sadly, Rusty has given tips to some of those AI-generated content.

I Love Reading But...

I love to read. Especially those articles that I can "connect" with the author. Maybe I will make a list of those authors whose work I love to read in the future.

On the other hand, when the article feels "too technical" or perhaps my instinct somehow tells me that I am reading plagiarized or AI-generated content, chances are my instinct is correct.

Using ChatGPT

Don't get me wrong. I've been using ChatGPT a lot lately, but not for generating content. There are lots of ways that ChatGPT can help us write better and compose a good article. However, relying entirely on the bot to generate content is not one of them.

Using ChatGPT to generate an entire article has two negative impacts on you as a writer.

  • Dulls your skills as a writer. When you start relying entirely on the bot to compose an article, you are missing the chance to sharpen your writing skills.
  • Your account may be demonetized or worse banned. In the past, I have seen some members complain that Rusty stopped visiting them. One even blamed another member for "falsely accusing him" of being a fraudster. And an incident that even started a flame war.

In Closing

I'm not sure though how Rusty reacts if someone reports plagiarized or AI-generated content these days. However, I know that a lot of curators in Hive, if not all curators, flag down AI-generated and plagiarized content. I have seen some writers who compose good articles sometimes upload plagiarized and even AI-generated content. Perhaps, their goal is to upload one article a day but got into writer's block. This just might put you on Rusty's or the curators' blacklist.
If you have a writer's block. Take a rest. Maybe you can ask ChatGPT what to write about. Something that is close to you.

Back to the question though...

Do You Tolerate AI Generated Content on This Platform?


Post No. 2023-42
Date Posted: August 27, 2023, Philippine Standard Time
Co-posted in ReadCash
All images are mine unless otherwise indicated.

Sort:  
 8 months ago  

Typically no we do not, for the simple fact that this is largely a human and brain platform. Yes there is a lot of automated aspects to it but the human engagement piece of this all is crucial! Reading someones thoughts from their head is much better than reading it from an AI algorithm pushed onto their post. No thanks!

Perhaps, this is one thing I like in Hive. It's not a platform for those who wants to earn quickly without exerting any efforts.