Rant, Complain, Talk - A little inspiration with work at the hotel and "triscaidekaphobia": do you know what it is? / Un poco de inspiración con el trabajo en el hotel y la "triscaidecafobia": ¿sabes lo que es? 😅🙃

in Rant, Complain, Talk2 months ago

Six months have passed since I started this side of traveling and working in the hotel industry, and in all this time I have not stopped learning new things. I like this moment in my life and the dynamics with which everything is happening at the same time that I walk and also have work responsibilities. In this last job I took, my position included working a few hours inside a hotel doing mainly receptionist duties. I have already been to six establishments, but this is the first time I have been in a hotel and I got a big one, with 17 rooms and two floors, quite dark at times but which served to boost my creativity 😅.

Seis meses pasaron desde que empecé esta faceta viajera y de trabajo en el rubro de la hotelería, y en todo este tiempo no dejé de aprender cosas nuevas. Me gusta este momento de mi vida y la dinámica con la que se está dando todo al mismo tiempo que paseo y también tengo responsabilidades laborales. En este último trabajo que tomé, mi puesto incluye cumplir algunas horas dentro de un hotel haciendo principalmente tareas de recepcionista. Ya he pasado por seis establecimientos, pero esta es la primera vez que estoy en un hotel y me tocó uno grande, de 17 habitaciones y dos pisos, bastante tenebroso por momentos pero que sirvió para impulsar mi creatividad 😅.


Varios (18 x 12 cm) (22).png



This Friday was my first day of work at the hotel so I had the training in which they explained all the tasks to me and gave me a tour of the place. Until now, I've always stayed in small hostels with no more than 6 rooms, so having so many to remember here made me a little dizzy at first. While we were walking through the corridors, my boss showed me the rooms "10, 11, 12, 13 does not exist, 14, 15, 16, 17". I asked him why they didn't have room 13 and he told me that this is like this in all hotels. Of course, to verify the information I looked it up on the Internet, and indeed it is.

Este viernes fue mi primer día de trabajo en el hotel así que tuve la capacitación en la que me explicaron todas las tareas y me dieron una recorrida por el lugar. Hasta ahora, siempre estuve en hosteles pequeños de no más de 6 habitaciones, así que que haya tantas para recordar acá me mareó un poco al principio. Mientras ibamos haciendo la recorrida por lo pasillos, mi jefe me mostró las habitaciones "10, 11, 12, la 13 no existe, 14, 15, 16, 17". Le pregunté por qué no tenían habitación 13 y me dijo que esto en todos los hoteles es así. Por supuesto que para verificar la información lo busqué en Internet, y efectivamente así es.

Screenshot_20240308-221156~2.png


Apparently there is a superstitious issue but with a strong influence within the world of everything that may have a number 13 that makes them avoid it completely. In my internet search I found that hotels, buildings, hospitals, even airplanes, avoid using 13 in their numbering. This is anchored in the fact that 13 historically represents bad luck, and including this figure in your business could be a bad omen. There is also a phobia of this number, called Triscaidecaphobia, where the panic at this value is already irrational. I was quite surprised by all this, I even checked the airlines I always travel on and I was surprised that row 13 does not exist, I had never noticed it. Other places choose to put 12A and 12B in order to avoid the unlucky number. What do you think of this? Better to prevent or is it all an exaggeration?

Aparentemente existe una cuestión supersticiosa pero con fuerte influencia dentro del mundo de todo lo que pueda tener un número 13 que hace que lo eviten por completo. En mi búsqueda en internet encontré que hoteles, edificios, hospitales, incluso aviones, evitan usar el 13 en sus numeraciones. Esto viene anclado a que el 13 históricamente representa la mala suerte, e incluir en tu negocio esta cifra podría ser de mal augurio. También existe una fobia a este número, denominada Triscaidecafobia, en donde el pánico a este valor ya es irracional. Me sorprendí bastante con todo esto, incluso corroboré en las aerolineas en las que viajo siempre y me sorprendió que no exista la fila 13, nunca lo había notado. Otros lugares optan por poner 12A y 12B con tal de evitar el número de la mala suerte. ¿Qué piensan de esto? ¿Mejor prevenir o es todo una exageración?

Screenshot_20240308-220946~2.png


This whole thing about the fear of the number 13, the big hotel with dark hallways and my long but quiet work day without so many guests due to the low season, made my imagination come back a little. While I was waiting for my schedule to be fulfilled, I wrote a story based on a mysterious accommodation with a room number 13. I liked having made this type of fantastic story because it has been many years since I wrote anything like that. When I was younger I loved creating stories and drawing them, but over time I abandoned that part of me. I really like writing and reading, so I was happy to have an idea to develop a story of this type ❤️. For the moment, I could say that 13 brought me the good luck of making my afternoon go by faster while I was writing that story: not everything ended up being so bad with that number 😅.

Todo este asunto del miedo al número 13, el hotel tan grande de pasillos oscuros y mi jornada de trabajo larga pero tranquila sin tantos huéspedes por la temporada baja, hicieron que mi imaginación vuelve un poco. Mientras hacia tiempo para que se cumpla mi horario, escribí una narración basada en un un misterioso alojamiento con una habitación con número 13. Me gustó haber hecho este tipo de narración fantástica porque hace muchos años que no escribía nada así. Cuando era más chica me encantaba crear historias y dibujarlas, pero con el tiempo fui abandonando esa parte de mí. Me gusta mucho escribir y leer, así que me alegré por tener una idea para desarrollar una historia de este tipo ❤️. Por el momento, podría decir que a mí el 13 me trajo la buena suerte de hacer que mi tarde se pase más rapido mientras escribía ese cuento: no todo terminó siendo tan malo con ese número 😅.


❤️ Hope you liked this post! Thanks for reading. ❤️

❤️¡Espero que les haya gustado este post! Gracias por leer. ❤️




With lots of love. / Con mucho amor.
Lau 💕.


📸 Cover created with Canva. All the images are my property 💕.
📸 Portada creada en Canva. Todas las imágenes son de mi propiedad 💕.


Sort:  

I am unsure, but it sounds like you are travelling different places and working in hotels. I have never heard of this strategy for travel, but it makes perfect sense. It is also a great way to get great hotel service where ever you go.
:)

I admire you for thinking in a non-traditional manner, in English there is an idiom for this called thinking outside the box.

I think cryptocurrency has opened many peoples minds to think and act differently from the traditional ways.

And I think this is very wise. Non-traditional thinking has brought many people new freedoms. And I think that's great.
:)

 2 months ago  

Hello! That's right, I get a job in hotels and then I walk around in my free time. It is a good modality, the only thing is that it is only in exchange for accommodation and it is necessary to have an economic income from somewhere else... in this case cryptocurrencies :)

I think that's great. Travelling can provide an endless supply of stories to tell, and pictures to take. I hope it is fun and lucrative!
:)

Trica queee? Jajaja 🤣 bueno te cuento que aquí en mi país hay una posada muy hermosa en los páramos andinos, allí todo es verde , peroooo en el pasillo rumbo a la habitación 12 y la qué no existe sale una novia con su vestido blanco, todo el que duerme allí no se va sin que quede blanco del susto, la historia cuenta que la joven murió , epa no te voy decir el cuento, luego te dará miedo jajaja

 2 months ago  

Jajajaja mmm y por qué la gente sigue yendo a esa posada? Yo ni me acercaría 😂

La gente no sabe hasta que los espantan y luego es que les dicen el cuento jajaja, yo le se las historias a muchos sitios , viaje mucho años atrás 😁

Congratulations @lauramica! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Rebuilding HiveBuzz: The Challenges Towards Recovery
 2 months ago  

The same thing goes for hotels that have lots of floors - they don’t have a floor 13. It’s interesting but I can’t disagree with them. What’s the harm in skipping it? There’s certainly a downside to not skipping it and if something bad happens - your reputation is completely gone even if it was a good place lol

 2 months ago  

And... it's always better to prevent... haha. Skipping it doesn't affect anything, it's better not to risk it 😅.

Escuché de miedos pelotudos, pero a un numero? jajaj. Aunque, no soy quien para juzgar. Yo le tengo miedo a los odontólogos XD
Buen blog. Saludos! 😘

 2 months ago  

Jajajaja y bueno hay gente para todo...

How are you dear friend @lauramica good morning
I have read all kinds of superstitions about the number 13, but I really didn't know that they had such a phobia of it that there isn't a hotel room with that number.
I take this opportunity to wish you a wonderful day.

 2 months ago  

Thank you very much Luis! Apparently there are very superstitious people... Very curious to know this, I had no idea 😅. Good night for you too!