You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Think like a Viking: Part two

There are so many interesting stories in history that we can learn from. Vikings, greeks, persians, Mongols, Chinese etc.

Like, when they got bored and had nothing to do in their country, they would travel to a different part in the world to conquer it.

Also, most people had a variety of skillset. Like they would know how to farm, fight, make repairs in their house. Blacksmiths. etc.

I think most adult males in that world had a basic fighting skill set.

Almost everyone wanted to have their name in history by sacrificing themselves in great battles and wars.

They were right when they though that their name will be around 1000's of years later. And instead of poems and songs, people will be making million dollar netflix series about them.

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

It's interesting to think of a regular, every day person, thinking their memory might endure throughout the ages. Sure, some notable people's names might be remembered, but most of us will slip into anonymity and be forever forgotten no matter what we do.

Take one's ancestry for instance, something I have traced back on my mothers side to the mid 1400's. Prior to that I knew almost none of their names, certainly none past my grandparents. It makes me wonder if those people thought they'd be remembered? I know their names now, some of their history, but largely they are forgotten, as I will be in the future.

They were right when they though that their name will be around 1000's of years later. And instead of poems and songs, people will be making million dollar Netflix series about them.

No one will make a Netflix series about me or probably anyone I know...But then again, they made a series about that family of NOBODY's called the Kardashians so there might be hope yet.

Thanks for commenting.