Witnessing "Dying" Tourism Sector in Tanah Lot

in Rant, Complain, Talk2 years ago



405opfil1qf18d3_tanahlot1.JPG
405opf2bl1qf6tjn_tanahlot2.JPG
405opf2bl1qfbetq_tanahlot3.JPG
405opf1tl1qfbq7o_tanahlot4.JPG

Tanah Lot used to be a very famous destination for locals and foreigners. I can confidently say that almost many Indonesians visited this place during their school trip, at least once in a lifetime. It’s a beautiful temple that sits on top of rocks that looks like a mini island. I have been to this place so many times in my life and I noticed some changes today.Firstly, the most noticeable change is the volume of the visitors. Secondly, a lot of stores are still closed and even torn down. Some stores couldn’t even seem to survive during the whole pandemic situation. Visiting the place was a different experience unlike what I normally see around canggu.

The reason I am checking out the place was because I found out that Tanah Lot was only a 20 minutes ride from my accommodation and the road there looked very easy on the map but when I actually rode around, it wasn’t as easy as expected. But one thing was, it was so empty and there were almost no buses and cars that went to the Tanah Lot temple. So, it was somewhat safe to drive around the area.

In Tanah lot, not only the temple, you can also see sacred snakes which are poisonous and also beautiful rock formations along the shore. It’s equally as beautiful as Uluwatu temple which is located further south of Bali. I went to the place at around 2PM when the sun was so high. It was very hard to ride in the heat and in an unfamiliar place. I have a habit of only checking the map a couple of times because I would memorize it fairly well. From Canggu, it’s only about a 20-30 minutes ride depending how fast you’re going. For me, it took about 25 minutes because I drove the bike a little faster when it was on an empty road. But before getting into the temple, I stopped at the local's Warung to eat. It was by far the cheapest food I’ve eaten during my whole trip. I even told the girl who attended the Warung to just keep the change but she told me to pick some crackers. I took some crackers and now I don't have to order crackers if I want to eat later on.

After I got the fuel for the adventure, I continued my journey. It was about 5 minutes before I reached the place. Tanah Lot is a very organized place and convenient if you want to park and everything. It costs about 23000 IDR/person + the motorbike parking but it costs 60000 for foreigners to enter the complex.

In the past, this place was bustling but at that time, I could only see 5 motorbikes and stores that were closed. Before getting into the temple, you will pass through souvenirs shops that are really more reasonable than other places, especially around the Canggu area. It is quite a walk to go to the temple, so always prepare drinkable water and also shades and hats as it can get quite hot during the day. When I got inside the place, there were many Balinese people who offered picture service using their traditional clothing. They are mostly men and women, wearing the Balinese traditional clothing, selling knick-knack such as bracelets, keychains, and many more. It’s quite festive what they’re selling. I got approached a couple of times and I ended up buying some bracelets because I needed them to mark my bags and also my keys so that they don’t get lost. It was quite pricey to be fair but I felt fine because I think they needed the money more than I do. The place was so quiet that I think it was the best time taking as many clear shots as you wanted because there were not many tourists around. I saw only a couple of locals but not too many foreigners. I enjoyed the scenery and I hope that tourism is back so these people can make more revenue.

Funnily enough, though I am bringing a camera, I still got approached by people who are offering the picture service. One told me, “ I could take your picture, it’s only 20k”. I refused politely because again, I have my own camera and I don’t like being photographed alone. Maybe if I was with my mom or someone, I would take that.

The infrastructure itself is more developed so I was a bit surprised. It is now easier to also visit another temple which is called batu bolong temple. It’s literally because the rocks have a hole in the middle and there’s a temple that sits on top. If you are tired of walking, you can sit on one of the benches and shades around the park.

In the past, when the tide was low, I could cross the rock and visit the temple on the small lot nearby. But today I came during the high tide and all the fences are closed and I couldn’t pass through it. So, I could only take pictures just until the fence, nonetheless, the view was amazing. If I could recommend 10 places to visit in Bali, though Tanah Lot can be a touristy place, the view is really breathtaking and should be on your list.

Let me know if you have questions about living in Bali!

Mac's Pinmapple Travel List

thumbnail.jpg

Don't hesitate to upvote for more content like this !


image.pngMac is a jack of all trades. A typical introvert in love with literature, books, technology and philosophy. She is also so into nootropics, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity, and languages. Other than that, she is passionate about cooking and traveling. In her free time, she enjoys learning various things. If you like her content, don't hesitate to upvote, leave a comment or a feedback. A re-blog is also appreciated.

For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This is so heartbreaking to hear. Went there in 2016 and there were a lot of tourist at the time and plenty of stores in the sidewalk. I hope everything will goes back to normal.

 2 years ago  

Yeah, everything changes after the pandemic. The tourism sector in the island is still trying to recover. Hopefully with the border re-opening they can make more money. It was really sad and I want to go there more often now.

This is one of the places on my bucket list. Gonna have to head to that side of the planet at least once I suppose...

 2 years ago  

Just come here clay, let me know and I gotchu covered. At least, for a smooth landing!

Lol I'm suddenly reminded of those old discord chats... I'm sure I'll head to Bali one of these days, it seems to always find it's way into my awareness.

 2 years ago  

Just let me know when you book the flights! I'll show you some cool places around and where you can see "trance" stuff if you're interested in that stuff 😃

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1524.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

 2 years ago  

❤️😍

 2 years ago  

Sucks that the place got hit hard by the lockdowns and stuff. I’m glad you got to visit and enjoy it though! It sounds like a pretty damn cool place that’s for sure!

Hopefully one day soon we can restore the travel industry to its former glory. It’s amazing to be able to visit these types of places!

 2 years ago  

Bali generally is a damn cool place to visit, very vibrant and international as well. It's just really sad to see the locals struggling and especially when they used to rely solely on tourism. Now, it's once again slowly recovering but still gonna take time.

Looks amazing. Would love to visit there, well maybe not so much the poisonous sacred snake part....

 2 years ago  

It's amazing! I wish I could upload more pictures but my internet connection at the time won't let me. So, I am going to create a separate gallery for them!