You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Brain Dump | Morning Musings

Interesting observation about competitive people using money as a marker for success.
I think perhaps that's true, but I've asked a number of extremely wealthy people who I know and they all say that the more they earned, business became more of a game and beating competitors than making money.

I must confess that I am very competitive at things that don't involve financial reward but not at all competitive at things that do. Perhaps that is my own aversion to making money or perhaps a general non-interest in money.

I've always tried to do things I enjoy primarily, and worry about money later. Not a course I'd recommend to anyone else necessarily but that's just how I am and I try not to overthink too much because then I become indecisive lol

Life is always an unsolvable puzzle and perhaps trying in vain to find a solution is what keeps us going!

You take care Mac, and have a wonderful week :-)

Sort:  
 20 days ago  

business became more of a game and beating competitors than making money.

That too! I also noticed that in some business where they care more about beating their competitors. There's always something satisfying about it too and money is bonus. I wished I could meet my great grandparents, they were awesome businessmen and know how the market works. These days I just heard stories about how they were able to do some type of monopoly around certain commodity and I badly want to know the details haha but sadly, none in the family inherit that business mind.

I don't know if culture plays a huge role. I am moving back into my old neighborhood and they are all money grubber and the conversation isn't far from money. Afterall, I live nearby market and the business district whereas where I've been living has been nearby university and education center, so the topic is like day and night. I could be affected but beats me haha I'll figure it out again.

It's why I am doing this brain dump,I think writing it out helps me heard another perspective or sometimes, even solving the problem itself.

Have a wonderful to you too and the family! thank you for reading and sharing your opinion :)

became more of a game and beating competitors than making money.

When they outgrown the need to satisfy their business' survival, it's really now just a long term game of legacy building. They don't play the same games we do and they don't need to, they've already gone past our mundane concerns.