You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Road wankers

Here, where I am from, you'll meet crazy drivers everywhere and every time. It is practically a norm to find road wankers every time you are on the road.

In Lagos, we have the worst types of traffic jams and the worst types of drivers. And the weirdest thing is that one may also need to have some level of craziness to actually survive on the roads. If one isn't "smart", you'd go through some unnecessary shit every now and then on the road.

The worst types of drivers are the commercial vehicle ones, usually the bus (danfo) drivers. They are practically insane every time. They often do not care about damage to their vehicle, so steering off of them is usually the sensible option. But then, the most annoying thing is that letting them have their way usually seems like the wrong choice to make. This is because they are often senseless when driving. So you end up having a maniac right in front of you, misbehaving.

I learned to drive years ago ( I think 6 years ago), and I thought it very absurd to use "driving" senses. Or should I say I picked them up from my parents and other people around me? In situations where we would have zip-merging roads (they are called bottle-necks here) ahead, you see everybody, I mean everybody, driving like it's the road to heaven. One would need to play this "pretend-scare" game to actually have one's way, when in actuality, you do not intend to hit anybody.

Sometime ago, I was driving and approaching the zip-merging road late at night. This time, it's four lanes merging into two, and I was on the slow lane. I gently approached it, as I should have, and then suddenly, some idiot van with an idiot driver came speeding from my right. There was no way his vehicle could fit in, so he had no choice but to slam into my vehicle and go right ahead of me, speeding.

I do not know how Lagos became like this, but it sure isn't changing anytime soon. One basically has to have four eyes on the road when driving.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

There was no way his vehicle could fit in, so he had no choice but to slam into my vehicle and go right ahead of me, speeding.

This is basically what happened yesterday but the guy behind me thought he'd take advantage of the fact I moved over slightly. Three into one doesn't go.

they are often senseless when driving. So you end up having a maniac right in front of you, misbehaving.

This is the case all over the world I think. I've been to a lot of places around the world and have seen some of the craziest driving.