Long breaks, hot takes, and poor timing.

Hello Hive, do you remember me? Of course you do, you're all above average... or, you're raising the average... or, well, however that stuff averages out...

As you can see, my time has not been spent collecting and organizing my thoughts. It's mostly been spent collecting and organizing tax forms, rocks, plants, trees, shrubs, tools... you get the idea. Spring came in a hurry this year, and we've been taking full advantage of it. There will be posts, maybe even a walk-through video. For now, however, I rant, complain, and talk.

So, how about those Hive tokens? The excitement brings me to the last part of my title, poor timing. I've always had poor timing. Not bad timing, necessarily, just poor. I'll get out of investments too soon. I don't lose money, but I've very narrowly missed a couple big payoffs. Hive seems to be no exception, as there I was, with some decent momentum and a full head of steam just before tokens started jumping up by 100's of percents, and what do I do? I disappear for a month. I didn't plan it, I was simply taking advantage of a different opportunity that presented itself (which will also pay off big, with value I can actually eat) and missed another good opportunity here. That's not exactly accurate, I certainly haven't missed this opportunity, but it feels like I've missed the crest of a wave. I've never been surfing, so I hope I'm using that comparison properly.

See how nicely the first and last point of my title are tying together? Nothing like a lot of physical labor outdoors to help you organize and collect your thoughts, without even putting any thought into it. Long breaks are certainly no way to build a following. That's okay, though, I'm not really trying to build a following, I want to GROW one, like a tree, with roots thrust into the rock of this world and an army of leaves waiting to blanket my enemies...

Sorry, in the middle of that paragraph, I took the Hedge Witch to a doctor's appointment, followed by some clothes shopping. I then came home and did some equipment research, potted an avocado, made some plans for the week, started drinking too much, got profoundly stoned, and decided I'm continuing with this post despite the run on sentences and silly sidebars. It might get weirder.

When I started this post, I had intended to actually share some thoughts on the differences between growing and building a following. It felt solid back then, let's run with that for a minute. I could probably BUILD a following pretty quickly with some well planned crypto posts, or buzzword-plugging investment advice. Any kind of advice, really, can build a following, as long as you promise it's the best, most life changing and

simple advice GUARANTEED to make you

RICHER and

THINNER!

Shit like that can get you followers, but what good are a bunch of followers who just want you to deliver on things they should be providing for themselves? I don't even want followers. If anything, I want readers. By readers I mean leaders, people who aren't on the internet looking for something new to follow, but looking for information to help them better lead themselves. People, mostly, who don't have time to read my rants 🤣, because they're busy doing things.

Are the italics too much? Now that I've gotten used to doing it all with keyboard shortcuts, it's just too easy. Like an absentee father, I may be compensating for my time away with some glitz and pizzaz.

Remember me? I'm your dad. Here's some fireworks, wanna go to the stock car races?

I got cocky about the keyboard shortcuts, and just ctrl-q'd my way into exiting out of Firefox while trying to 'quote' that. Autosave just had my back 100%. What would be the proper sacrifice to offer as thanks? I mean, I only would have lost about a paragraph at the most... I'm thinking... frog? I have some great frogs to sacrifice, maybe that's too much. Mouse? Let me know what you think, I don't want to seem to 'needy' with my offerings to the gods.

Speaking of leaders, followers, and inappropriate things, lets get to that hot take I promised you guys. It's about people at the U.S./Mexico border, so if you're sensitive about that sort of thing, I'll understand if you bail now. Honestly, I'm surprised you came this far. Maybe I should set up a side token to hand out for participation prizes... sorry...

The Hot Take

The people fleeing to this country are not going to find what they seek here. This country is NOT particularly safe or friendly towards refugees, immigrants, or pretty much anyone who comes here but doesn't bring a fortune with them. America may be better in some ways than wherever you're coming from, but it's probably not going to be as good as you think, and I've known more than a few of you who didn't feel it was worth the risk. What I propose you need, is a good leader. I don't know where you're going to find one, but you should start looking. If the numbers they report at the border are anywhere close to accurate, what you need to do is organize, share some information, make a plan, and go TAKE BACK one of the towns some of you are fleeing from. You have the numbers to do it, even without weapons, and once you do, you'll have weapons to help you KEEP it. Get together, and make TAKE a safe place for yourselves, if safety is what you seek, because I can promise you that nobody can provide it for you in the US. If opportunity is what you seek, make it for yourself, because you'll find just as many adversaries to opportunity (both above and below the law) here as anywhere. I don't know what the nationwide numbers are, but in my personal experience, I've met more Americans that made a fortune in Mexico than Mexicans who made a fortune in America.

And just in case someone abroad is reading this and thinking of sending their children here alone in hopes that they will be safe, you've been lied to by child traffickers. Your children are not safe on the way here, and they will not be safe when they get here. Even IF they are lucky enough to arrive here safely, be admitted into the country, and some day get employed in America, they will most likely spend their whole life making more money for someone else than they make for themselves, and having a higher percentage of the money they do make taken from them as taxes than the people who are employing them below their worth.

But enough about that rant, how have you guys been?

I know, excited! Hive has probably gone up another 15% while I've been trying to finish this meandering post. I'm glad everyone's excited, but I honestly hope the excitement dies down again soon. I feel like I was just getting a nice, non-crypto vibe going on in my feed, and now all this buzz has the whole Hive going on about crypto again. I am glad you're all getting rich, though. Buy enough land to live on, enough guns to keep it, and enough tools to work it. By the time NY lets me trade my Hive, it'll be worth enough to build a bunker with. Not that I need to take the honey out of my Hive to build a bunker, I already have the necessary land and tools for that.

So, speaking of Hive, what's next for me here, you ask?

Well, for starters, I'm going to take advantage of some rainy weather to put some posts together, and I'm going to take advantage of PeakD's 'schedule' feature to spread them out a bit. That way I don't spam you guys with 10 posts, and with luck I'll be able to stay ahead enough to avoid these damn month long gaps. Ya can't level up if ya ain't playin' the game.

I'm also thinking of taking a dive in LeoFinance. I'm new to investing in financial markets and digital currencies this year, and while I know enough to make those investments grow, I have a lot to learn about managing them efficiently, and it seems like a good place to learn some new things about managing finances.

For right this very second, I'm going to plug my phone into the desktop, find a good pic an okay pic to throw on this post, and tie it up with a sloppy ribbon, just like that puppy with worms your absentee dad brought you 3 days late for your birthday.

Oh shit, did I miss Hive's birthday?

20210311_184221.jpg

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

That was a good shallow dive into your thoughts!

I didn’t get skinny reading your post so I’m going to unfollow you! Why would I partake in something that doesn’t help me lose weight by a title or post headline?!?!? Wtfux

I’ve missed a few boats with not being as active as one can be but that’s the nature of living life in the real, flesh and blood world. We might have missed a little money not harassing the markets feed but we experienced real life and that’s something that so many miss sitting in front of their computers. I’ll take the trade off personally! I can catch what I can when I can so I don’t get too upset if I’m a little late on something spending time outside, with my wife and son.

I feel bad that so many people think that coming to this country is a wonderful idea and end up getting it ruined when they could, as you say, just organize and take back their own towns from the corrupt assholes that run it. Don’t get me started on the child trafficking, so much of the stuff is absolutely covered up and connected to the very people that run the areas. Depressing!

I missed hive birthday as well, it’s cool and all but I’m not throwing a party like some have lol.

Shallow dives are so much more exciting, you never know when you'll crack your skull on the bottom!

Sounds like you've got your priorities straight when it comes to how you spend your time. A tip of the hat to you, sir.

I will follow you. Sure thing. And if you don't like that, you can't do anything.

Cheers!

So, you've fallen for my ploy!

Thanks for the follow, hope you enjoy!