You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Support Your Neighbours on HIVE .:. Late Night Blogging

in Rant, Complain, Talk11 months ago

Well, I share your opinion... I have already forgotten why we have this 24-hour curation curve implemented at all. Why not 2-3 days?
I know it was something about "milking the rewards pool" on the last day, but we still have 6 DAYS until the payment... so, I really don't know why 24 hours...

And I have the same problem as you... I mean, I do upvote posts after 24 hours, but I know that many people got blocked by the "unwritten rule" of NOT upvoting posts over 24h at ANY cost!

Maybe it's time for new public discussion about the "experiment" with this 24h rule, and maybe the downvotes thing again... we need a more "positive" attitude on HIVE...

Sort:  

Blocktrades explained it that 24 hours is enough for curators to discover new content. And the drop in half in curation rewards after 24h is because you already have an idea how the vote is going, you haven't taken the chance to vote for a new post before it had any votes. After 3 days it's practically useless to vote on a post for rewards, since they are 1/8.

His reasons aren't wrong, but still sometimes you already "curated" posts but forgot to vote on them until you had time to read them.

Blocktrades explained it that 24 hours is enough for curators to discover new content.

That's a bit subjective and definitely not always the case, especially on weekends... It should be chilled surfing on HIVE and not pressure to catch everything in the last 24 hours...

I tend to agree. On the other hand, I understand his position that early curators who find and bring posts to the spotlight should have a bonus. But you have much more experience with this, and if you say 24h is not enough, then we may be not the only ones who find it insufficient.