Arriving at A battle of Wits Unarmed

in Rant, Complain, Talk2 years ago

Ahhh Those Terrifying Words


I have always been a big fan of THE spoken word, From classic examples found in the Blues and Storytelling to the great speech writers such as Abraham Lincoln, Martin Luther King and Malcolm X.

To more recent artists Like Saul Williams, Scroobius Pip and Safia Elhillo.

I used to enjoy this writing format and tried to find an escape in the mental exercise of piecing together broken trains of thought into something resembling poetry.

If you never tried it you should, Its a great bit of brainbox exercise.

This is something I have not done in a while so let me dust off some old rhymes in this tired mind.

Personal goal: Write this in one hit no edits no changes only a bit of formatting at the end. I will let myself correct spelling etc.

(Update: Done with only a few Dozen Delete the whole thing and start again buttons pushed)

IMG_20211129_172851.jpg


Lets see what's happening. Lets call Cain, and get Abel on the threeway.

Entertainment of the highest Caliber, A loaded clip and sixteen hostages Never stopped anyone before.

Dealing with built in obsolescence since my adolescence.
Let me take a moment to speak when I aint been spoken too.

Allow me the chance to say these words that may cut right through.

Manners make the man but man made manners too, so I will assault you verbally with a smile.

All the while, I will try to Reconcile the beliefs we do not share.

Speak up, stand up, raise a hand up.

Our mantra Don't forget to Like follow and subscribe, sit quietly and of my content imbibe.

Like bringing a shotgun to fist fight, I'm Excessive, controlled, ready to go. If I speak out of turn please spin the bottle one more time and know.

I AM NEXT.

With memories accessed randomly, spinning towards an infinity of anonymity.

We are not the same.

To our shame we have been taught that we share the same blame, responsible for some other mother fuckers game.

We are not our mothers or fathers sins.
We will not be denied the chance to try again.

Lets walk through the fantastical, make a stop alongside the mathematical, and take a moment to burn a candle for those that stopped here on A paid sabbatical.

Humanity is something we all have in common, but the common denominator should not be an excuse.

Like Fractions hidden behind redacted bars, The solution so heavily blurred no man, woman or child have escaped the scars.

Together we stand divided and undecided

Speaking our innermost thoughts on pages dedicated to our derision, while actively participating in our social circumcision, thriving on our self inflicted isolation from decisions.

Some say pen is mightier than the sword, But my arsenal is packed and heavily encoded. Filled with undecipherable words.

Count my pennies and my possessions, my wealth is intangible and unmeasured.

My passion is all that is Chaotic and toxic eating away at this necrotic infection with a solution most exotic.

Stop.

Flip the record.

Press Delete.

What I mean to say is simple, A Psychological sample with a message that is ample and unfiltered.

Do not pick your own path create it. Every stone or obstacle, simply break it.

Our paths may not be united, but when they cross I offer my attention, undivided.

Here I will leave it, press pause, and I will not delete this shit.


So not the most shining example but I enjoyed doing that, A bit of a minimalist post for me but fuck it I cant stretch the word count every time. Out of thousands of words I have ended up with something I don't hate. So Instead of padding it out with copied text and unrelated pictures to try and milk the algorithm, Imma leave it here Until next time-

Sort:  

Nice. There's a coffee shop here that's run by a bunch of people from this weird hipster fundamentalist church that does a poetry night every so often. I keep meaning to show up and do Napalm Sticks to Kids as a spoken word piece.

Been kicking around the idea of doing some free association/spoken word but I gots to be really stoned for that. Think I may take a swing at that now, thanks for the nudge!

 2 years ago  

Much obliged sir!

 2 years ago  

I think that might be a hit, I tried not to over think it this time mostly because I didn't want to stress myself out. I figured the one hit method would keep it simple.

I'll keep my eyes open 👍

 2 years ago  

That was fun. Wasn't what I expect from Rubido well done. Keep me on my toes or thumbs you know the ones like slumber party crashers.
I know that don't rhyme but something about slumber party came to mind and left without signin out I don't know what I'm writin about like slumber party crashers.

 2 years ago  

Sometimes things stick, and occasionally I like to do things just for my own amusement. Crashing slumber parties, now that's something I ain't done since I was a teenager.

Glad to see I can still show up at the table with something new!

 2 years ago  

Now you got me writing in sentences with similar annunciation kinda reminds me of instances in familiar situations.

 2 years ago  

I like to enunciate almost as much as a I like to procrastinate and even master...wait a damn minute maybe too much information there.

 2 years ago  

As soon as you said master...wait I knew you'd be done in a damn minute. Thanks again for giving me reason to rhyme the end of this sentence.

 2 years ago  

Hahah minute man!

 2 years ago  

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @coloneljethro.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I think it was fantastic, and anyone that doesn't like it is either jealous, or a pussy!

Meow!

 2 years ago  

Awesome flow here man! I’ll start a draft post on something like this, I don’t know how I’ll do but sometimes I do have the ideas to get things in tune as much as one can! I guess this comment was an opportunity to try it but like cominarty, that might not exist.

 2 years ago  

Cheers man when you get round to it I'll definitely check it out, always fun to play around with words.

( Late reply due to real world inconvenience 😂)

 2 years ago  

No worries dude, shit happens. It's happening here as well lol. I'll work on it, might take me a little while but I'll let you know when I finish it lol

 2 years ago  

Shit definitely happens 🤣 seem to be less snowed under the brown blizzard at the minute. Definitely hit me up when you finish it 👍