Face your Fragility: Dealing with your projects weaknesses.

in Rant, Complain, Talk2 months ago (edited)

TLDR

Summary: This post discusses the importance of facing and addressing the fragility of projects, emphasizing the value of feedback from others in improving and strengthening them. Hope for a better tomorrow is also expressed for the community.

Innovation is wonderful but Fragility isn’t ..

  • Fragile products break a lot.
  • Once a project gets a reputation for being fragile, it’s hard to shake.
  • I have often recruit people to projects on Hive, but if I am successful, and these new people get here and stuff breaks, it is a big turn off. This is especially a bad experience if they try the product, it doesn't work, and then customer support is slow, and resolution takes a long time.
  • Personally,I think the first time your interface doesn't work, is a unique opportunity to show your customers you care and show some responsiveness to the event. Quite honestly, I think the reputation of projects could even be improved when their stuff breaks, if they were fast and responsive. A speedy resolution would go a long way. If you make them wait weeks or a month, it is a permanent bad impression.

Fragility

  • So when I designed the ten or so projects I have built on Steemit and then on Hive... they looked good on paper, but in the real work they didn't always work as I planned.
  • So to get better, I had to get better at dealing with feedback. And that made all the difference.
  • I couldn't make the projects better all by myself.
  • If I could, I would have made them better in the beginning.
  • Sure I learned stuff as I went along, but quite frankly I have only two eyes, two ears and I can't see the entire problem by myself. I can only see it from my point of view. That's not a handicap or flaw, it's just a reality.
  • We have a single, often 2 dimensional view of a 3 dimentional world. We need other peoples viewpoints to see the entirety of the problem.
  • So I needed feedback from people who could see things from a point of view that I didn't have...

Admit your point of view is limted and accept the point of view of others.

  • In the end, my most successful projects didn’t just reflect my own hard work, they reflected my ability to get better at taking feedback.
  • And you would be surprised at the progress you can make in improving your project, if you stop assuming that the end user did something wrong...and instead listen to what they did and what your interface did afterwards.
  • I am not saying users don’t make mistakes. I am just saying that none of us are perfect and all feedback is useful.

Last words... hope

  • So what are the chances this post will make a difference?
  • I have hope
  • Humans have a strong, sometimes irrational, non-mathematical quality, called hope.
  • Here’s hoping for a better tomorrow on a community I love.

Sort:  

I decided this post was to angry and rewrote it.

Sometimes when we are angry we tell the truth

 2 months ago  

It’s interesting I have been asking my customers and colleagues for feedback on how I could do things differently or better and I’ve not gotten any feedback on that in the few years I’ve been asking. I think people are too fragile? Lol. If someone asks you how they can improve, it’s good to try and figure out how to say it!

Yeah user feedback is so important and what we have to listen to, at least with one ear so that we can build something but also make modifications to said things based on their varied perspectives. Even if 75% of the people are not on the high scale of intelligence it doesn’t mean their points of view should be ignored since they represent a large chunk of society.

I agree.
You make a good point that we shouldn't discount people's feedback because we think they are not knowledgeable. One of crypto and blockchains biggest issues is explaining unfamiliar technology: blockchain, in unfamiliar words (blockchain vocabulary) and then wondering why people who are new to the technology don';t understand. Creators sometimes suffer from this also, as things which they easily understand based on their virtual immersiment in this world.

 2 months ago  

Yeah one of the things I try to always do in my work in the professional space is to take information and digest it for those who may not understand it fully, by translating and bringing it to them on their terms. It’s not always successful but just the attempt is important because it also helps me understand things better when I can attempt to translate it to someone else.

Same thing with digital assets! We have to take a step back and try to reduce the technical jargon and word salad into something that can be easily understood. I’m victim of that issue myself, so it’s good to try and do that!

I agree that every discipline suffers from this issue of vocabulary and explaining things in their terms.

I think it's easy to forget how the world outside your job or hobby world speaks, if you only speak to people within that unique space.

I think one of the values of recruiting people is the blank looks you get when you use to much jargon or the disinterested looks.

They help remind you that you must be able to bridge the worlds with understandable language, if you want people to understand the value proposition of cryptocurrency.

Thank you for this gentle post.
I was astonded when I first read this. You said some of the quiet parts out loud. And you said them so nicely, that I think surely it will not offend, but inform.
I love the complexities of this space, but I dread the fragility of new things.
I joined Hive to utilize the decentralized finance rails built here. But I was disappointed by the undependable nature of the projects and the length of time my money would be tied up in failed transactions. I have since then stopped investing in the decentralized finance rails outside of Hive first layer ecosystem, but I love reading your posts to learn about new developments. I will return to invest here again, when I am comfortable that things are working consistently. I wish everyone well here who invests in early development projects, and I hope their risk taking pays off for them.

I am very sorry for the difficulties you had with leobridge when you joined. The bridge can work so well, but when it doesn't work, it is a tremendous burden to have your capitol tied up for weeks. I realize your initial investment was tied up for weeks, and I understand why you were less willing after that to commit substantial amounts of capitol to the ecosystem.

Our project, is full of amazing innovations, but these innovations can display fragility at the worst times, and your experience was one of those times.

I hope you will give the ecosystem another chance, a third chance. But start small and preferably during the week, during EST when the support is at it's best.

Thanks, but it is not your fault. Some projects are just fragile and this one has a community wide reputation for fragility. You were kind enough not to call out names, but I think people know of whom you speak. But in a few years, this will hopefully be water under the bridge, and you will hopefully be rich. But quite frankly I don't know why your still here.

You are talented and consistent, and you recruited over 50 people for Cubfinance, and 100 people for the No Loss Lottery, which used Cubfinance. From what I can see they didn't lift a finger to help you, and they don't appreciate you.

It's a shame you don't know your worth, or you would leave. It's nice to be loyal and believe in a project. But it's terrible to be taken for granted, and while others are celebrated, you are ignored.

I don't want to anger you or disappoint you, but your contributions would be recognized elsewhere. They aren't recognized here at all. If you would spend a few weeks on another project, contributing what you contribute here, I am sure you would be amazed at how appreciated you would be. If I could recruit you for my projects I would love to have you. Think about it, because here they are unlikely to change.

Thank you for your supportive words.

First of all, I really appreciate the fact that you felt the project was valuable and that you invested in it. Thank you.

Second, your right, I did run two programs on Hive, connecting over 100 investors to Cubfinance for 2 years and to Polycub for a year.

While I regret not being able to work with Khal to improve or perhaps enlarge the project, he was to busy doing all the amazing things he has done here to learn about what I was doing.

Which was a very small scale project of 100 investors, and about 100,000 Leo, in a Hive community 20 times that size. I took care of mostly the small investors, whose profits would have been eaten up by transaction fees and bridge fees. The scale I accomplished made all investments profitable, even small ones of 100 LEO.

Third, and perhaps most importantly, I thought the project had value, and so did the investors. I believed Cubfinance could make us money, and so did the investors. We did make money for two years, so we were happy.

I could focus on the "...could have been..." dreams of a huge community, but at this point I choose to focus on the successes, and the knowledge I learned from the project. So when I do it again, I will use what I learned to make it better.

Damn!
This is pretty fucking amazing dude.
I mean you danced around the point a bit, but you definitely said something, which many people were thinking..

I have not been here as long as you, and I definitely don't understand all this crypto stuff. But that makes me uniquely qualified, by my ignorance, to seize upon the wisdon of your post.

This Hive shit is complicated and while Hive actually works pretty dam good, it's these other projects built on Hive that honestly speaking, break to fucking easy.
And it's this reputation for being fragile, that causes people not use it.
That and the customer service that assumes your stupid, and treats you like your stupid.

Sorry but the majority, the silent majority are sitting this shit out, and in doing so they are telling you how they really feel, with their lack of investment.

Thank you for your reply.
Its important to provide feedback, but not offend.

I like your previous style of writing, please return to it.
Thanks

I also feel a certain sadness seeing this style.

Loading...
Loading...

I did go back and rewrite the post, with a less angry tone, but it really wasn't anger, it was disappointment.

I replaced the harsh tone of the original post with a more concillatpry tone.

I must admit getting lost in the probability portions of the post, but after rereading it, I think I get it. But most importantly we all need to take advantage of the other people around us, who can add to our data collection and assist us in solving problems. We never refuse data in AI work, we should adopt that in all areas.
:)