That Irritating Trend of Clickbait Headlines and Thumbnails

in Rant, Complain, Talk3 months ago

Life is disappointing but nothing disappointments me more than a click bait headline or thumbnail

clickbait-7393137_1280.pngSource

You probably experience it a lot if you like watching YouTube videos or reading blogs about "how to earn 1000 dollars a minute without working"

Let me take you on a journey through the treacherous terrain of clickbait headlines – a journey filled with frustration, disappointment, and a healthy dose of righteous anger.

It all started innocently enough, like most digital tragedies we hear about. I was simply scrolling through my feed on social media platforms enjoying my ever busy life when I came across a headline that boldly claimed to reveal the “Shocking Truth Behind Celebrity Secrets”.

The heading tickled my curiosity prompting me to take the bait by clicking immediately in expectation of scandalous revelations.

However, excitement turned into dismay as I dug deeper into the article. Instead of being privy to any juicy gossip or scandalous exposés that were promised, all I got were just stale rumors and half-hearted conjecture.

This was just like someone who lures you with promises of gourmet feast only to serve stale sandwiches.

Thus began my plunge into the vexing world of clickbait titles. Day by day, I was showered with enticing fragments of text which pledged the heavens and offered disappointing and heartbreaking results instead.

“You Won’t Believe What Happens Next!” they mocked me, luring me in while promising the unknown and the immediate satisfaction.

But every time I took the bait, I got nothing but just empty words. It was as if all of internet was against me, toying with my mind by dangling before me the possibilities of knowledge and wisdom only to take them away leaving a bitter taste in my mouth.

Worse still, clickbait headlines have become such an integral part of online communication that they are almost inescapable.

They clog up my newsfeed, invade my email inbox and haunt my dreams telling me that no place on the internet is safe from their clutches.

But I will not surrender. I cannot just let my online life be run by clickbait headings. Furthermore, I am not prepared to play their games.

So when you see a clickbait headline again, think of what happened to me. Remember how pissed off and frustrated I was. Moreover, keep in mind that your attention is worth too much to waste it on empty words and promises only.

But let's be honest here, as a content creator, although you have passion to see your content get so many views, creating too many click baits is going to the exact opposite. People will start to lose trust in your content authenticity and soon you'll actually be getting less views than you planned.

Sort:  

Most people know that posting topics like that will definitely attract people because they always want quick ways to make money

you're right on that new friend, this is becoming a social media trend especially on YouTube and other places where captions and thumbnails determine whether people watch or not