A Writer's Reflection on Career Shifts and Industry Turmoil

image.png

I'm OK, But Not Everyone Can Say The Same

I am surprised to note that it's going to be four weeks since I started a new job last week. I personally resigned myself to accept a lower-paying wage job at the local hardware or grocery store. My personal ambition resisted the notion, but the reality of rent, food, and other discretionary spending almost pushed me to less favorable acts. More on that later.

Still, without returning to a life of crime, I found a way to make some pay. I write! I also support customers over the phone and electronically with insurance technology solutions.

Writing, the less novel of my vocations, supported my mental health, giving me an outlet to express myself, while putting change in my pockets. As indecisive as I am, even after reading Barry Schwartz' The Paradox of Choice, at one point in my life, teaching and writing seemed like viable careers. I did very little to attain accreditation in those fields, but it seems even if I did, I would still be weathering a storm of uncertainty.

Why, you ask dear reader? More layoffs continue to come down on top of media's second class citizens, the writers.

image.png

VICE Will Stop Publishing On Vice.com & Lay Off Hundreds

My lady has a friend who works as a web developer. It may not be my business to report, but her fate and those at VICE appear eerily similar. VICE CEO Bruce Dixon said the company will be cutting "several hundred" jobs in the next week.

Now, you would think that the advent of artificial intelligence would be helping the average content creator, but big business carries on almost callously, cutting employees while investing in cost-cutting technology.

Seems, we can't all be like award-winning Japanese authors.

Even Refinery29, the women-focused media company VICE bought in 2019 can't avoid "advanced discussions" to liquidate.

I entertain this notion more often these days, but what if those affected writers, editors and contributors brought their talents here? Would this blogging platform enable them, without the overbearing middle-managing of an incorporation?

I hope so. At least, we could avoid the worst outcome in my opinion, becoming a content creator who sells adult content. Then again, numbers do not lie.

OnlyFans Pays The Most, But I Will Not Sell Out

I am not surprised to see that OnlyFans makes a lucrative freelance opportunity. As people, sex remains irrefutably linked to life. Yet, something about the venture does not lend itself to everyone's participation.

I won't use big words here. We should not all try to sell sex. Some people are just bad salespeople. On top of that, some parts of life do not need to be commoditized.

image.png

I still appreciate how DJ Shadow asked people to put their phones away at his show in Boston. I understand people want to retain memories, share with their friends and more but just as effective proves to be staying in the moment, feeling every once of the event with your mind and body.

I am against the commoditization of sex for a number of reasons elucidated by former performers, activists but for me, the significance ties back to people, relationships and life as a whole. Dumbing down the dance and stumble of courtship, intimacy and finally intercourse reduces people far too much.

image.png

Imagine, micropayments for kisses and hugs. Would you tip someone for giving you a handshake? I certainly don't want to pay for someone to hold my hand or link arms with me, walking down the street. Yet, my hyperbole isn't so dramatic when men face an epidemic of loneliness as their relationships change drastically by the day. I don't need to exaggerate about more and more turning to OnlyFans as its median annual earnings reach almost $5000.

Now, I can't blame the fiscally hungry, especially while politicians pop tags on OnlyFans and luxury items, while sitting a pool of deep debt.

Just don't expect this writer to put the pen down or turn the PC off.

image.png

Sort:  

"imagine micropayments for kisses and hugs. would you tip someone for giving you a handshake?" Powerful stuff there man, never thought of it that way, but that's the insidiousness of modern media, normalizing these things without us even noticing anythings changed. I've never looked up only fans, but I've heard AI is also taking over that space. It's not hard to create hyper realistic people these days, I'm sure it's not hard at all to create an only fans model. Excellent read man, and you've got my vote. Keep writing!

Much obliged! I might be on my soap box, but really, it's like any of these performative transactions we're looking for. I've been to restaurants where someone who doesn't even come back to our table's angling for a tip. Better yet, picture the folks who spray your car and start wiping it as you're stopped at the light. We all have different situations, but I fear for a day when we've all become transactional.

 2 months ago  

The coming changes technologically are going to be wild for sure. There’s going to be a lot of pain but there’s also going to be a lot of opportunities! We just have to find where those are and can make moves. As task master says, technology is deflationary. The crap going on right now is intentionally keeping prices high for everything even though there is no justification at all for it.

Keep writing and doing the various other things - those are the things that sustain us!

I appreciate it. I will. And you're right, with all the craziness and work I have to do, it feels like writing is the only place I can hear my voice speak up. Technology is deflationary, huh? I hadn't considered that before, but as you mention it, the econ and finance I studied way back in school starts echoing. I'll have to look more at that concept, maybe even write about it soon. Thanks for stopping by.

Some people really want to get paid before they are touched and it is really crazy
We’re in that crazy world

Well, social media has made us very expectant of outcomes. Maybe I shouldn't blame it, but in general, many want things before they put in the work. How could young men want beautiful partners before they are someone people want to work with?

 2 months ago  Reveal Comment

As the right to choose remains yours, I cannot comment. However, I must admit there are things, special things, that I believe you cannot put a price on. I find it an interesting choice, and enjoy learning of the perspectives I don't have.