You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Brain Dump | Morning Musings

in Rant, Complain, Talk12 days ago

I am quite happy with my Redmi Note Phone that I have been using ( heavily ) for almost 3 years now. It lasts longer than my previous I phone, was way cheaper and is still going strong. I am wary of (Chinese) products that are extremely cheap though.

Sort:  
 12 days ago  

I have a Note 9 Pro that has been through hell and seems to hold 88% of its battery capacity (my four month old macbook pro has already lost 3% for comparison). I purchased it in 2020. I've dropped this thing countless times in recent months, even yesterday on a marble surface. It is accumulating dents and scratches quite fast, but it is holding up quite well.

My problem with these products is the spyware side of it all though. And the 'higher quality' Chinese tech is just doing what all tech does: pulls you in with a cheaper product and then slowly raises the price once you're hooked into them.

Here in Armenia is see the lower end of Chinese trash far too much. Shops here are riddled with the cheapest Chinese crap that doesn't last a week. Especially on the tech side. I can't stand it sometimes. My option has to be importing or buying from Russian marketplaces that'll deliver to Armenia. Even for simple things like actually decent extension cables.

 12 days ago  

Extremely cheap chinese product is something we all should be wary of. Cost is also consideration these days where often chinese goods can be quite competitive too and they also target different market from low to high end ones.