A prudent ambivert

I talked to a friend of mine recently about how hard it is to be prudent in today's capitalist world. He said it wasn't so hard for him due to how individualistic he is and how he doesn't care for people's opinions as much. However, I painted a different picture for him.

As a female, who uses Instagram and is ambiverted, I'm exposed to a lot. I love attending parties and fun events but I also love my solitude to an unhealthy extent. I've found myself looking forward to moments when my partner isn't home so I can stare at walls in absolute silence.

However, I've also desperately needed to attend parties. I could crave the outdoors so strongly that my head would start to ache and my fingers would tingle. I've accepted that I need both forms of excitement to live a comfortable life.

Now, as a person who loves the indoors, I don't need anything other than food, power and great internet, however, as a person who loves parties I need new wigs, clothes, jewellery and shoes.

Instagram is the Capitalist haven for all sorts of rubbish and make-believe. I've found myself on several instances daydreaming and wishing I could be someone or have certain things and in very rare instances, my extroverted self has forced me to make a few dead-end purchases that I came to regret later.

WhatsApp Image 2024-04-09 at 03.04.19_e036b54d.jpg
Image taken by me

These few instances where I've been tempted to purchase useless items online have forced me to be a lot more thoughtful before making purchases, and in turn, my thoughtfulness has made me not only prudent but also an extreme minimalist.

Rather than own so many clothing that I won't weak, I've chosen to own seasonal clothes. Very few slightly expensive clothing that I actually like, over a period of 3 to 6 months. Afterwhich I discard some and repurchase a few more for the next couple of months.

I've actively done this over the last 2 years and save for a few items that were botched by the designer, I've had no regrets with my decision. The entire setup works well enough with my life at the moment.

I'm quite certain that moving forward, I'll be forced to own more clothing items, especially when I have to leave the house every day, but for now, this works and it satisfies my introvert and extrovert personas adequately.