Price Hike.

in Rant, Complain, Talk6 months ago

The increase in price of goods and services has turned many into either a mathematician, an economist, and also a manager.

Yesterday, I had to pick avocado at the close by market to make my baby's puree. before leaving the house, I thought about how much an avocado will cost since everything is now super expensive so I picked extra money. As I was about leaving, something told me to get extra cash , I resisted at first because I didn't want to spend beyond budget, but I went back inside and picked a thousand naira.

Screenshot_20231126-143310_1.png

I got to the market close by only to be told that the only lady who sells avocado there has just put to bed two days ago and no one else sells. I felt a bit angry because how can it be just one person selling avocado 🥑 here? The only option I had was to move to the bigger market which will require me to take a tricycle.
Moving to the market, the tricycle price has moved from #200 to #300 and I was only able to get 2 avocado 🥑 and the price is now on the high side.

IMG_20231126_145018_427.jpg

I had to return home so, I moved towards the bus stop, I saw people standing but I noticed a woman holding a little child which I assume will be her daughter or granddaughter. She was stoping a tricycle and after talking, the tricycle will eventually zoom off, it happen twice and I haven't been able to get one too, because the space available isn't for someone carrying a child so I decided to move close to her and I said "good afternoon ma, why are they not carrying you," she replied "Good afternoon my pikin, them say na #300 and I get just #200 with me,"I then told her not to worry as we were going to same direction.

We got a tricycle and she asked while lamenting, "why are things so expensive I couldn't even buy half of what I wanted and still all money exhausted" I then told her that it's because our exchange rate has increased and the foreign currency is way higher than our local currency " she looked so confused and asked how did that affect tricycle people and I explained but she looked more confused 🤔 anyway I got to my stop and highlighted.

On my way home I kept Wondering what if I didn't return to take the extra cash, I would have returned home empty handed.

Thanks for your time,I hope you enjoyed reading.

Sort:  

Congratulations @ytunee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2023

The rate of dollar has indeed increased, which has led to this situation.

I’m glad you took an extra cash and also helped the woman and her child

The increase has affected Alot, I hope it gets better soon.
Thank you

 5 months ago  

The cost increases are sadly nothing but manipulation and forcing pain onto people for no good reason. With advances in technology all of these things are dirt cheap but people are being forced to endure the pain by some pretty evil people sadly. I’m glad you were willing and able to help out that mother! It’s a great thing to do those small things and that’s how we can make positive change in the world. We have to do things instead of expect someone else to do them for us.

It's so sad, all we can do to ease the pressure is to help one another. Thank you for stopping by.