An unexpected find is this week's market Friday

in Market Friday2 years ago (edited)

Discovering an upmarket attractive vintage furniture and clothes shop called Collective Haus positioned right next door to the Feed Barn in Yandina, took me by surprise last Friday. The cleverly arranged display of clothing, Turkish rugs and bits of furniture out the front of the old white church building caught my eye as soon as I got out of the car.

496A2A3B-C562-477A-9C89-B30F05F4C93C_1_201_a.jpeg

The urge to go in was strong but first things first I told myself, I came for bird seed so into the old rustic farm building with the rusty roof I went. It was the reason for the trip to Yandina and was the context of my market Friday post last week. I do intend to go back to that Feed Barn.

...........................................................

But, as soon as I left the bales of hay, chooks and bags of seed I was on a mission to check out the vintage shop next door, a shop full of good taste and artistry. I could see a clever business owner or owners behind this investment venture. As it happens to be another Friday, this post is my contribution to the ever lovely @dswigle's Market Friday this week, she is the best encourager of post writing there is.

Even though both businesses operate side by side in country Yandina both are old but at the same time as different as oranges and lemons, black and white, country rural farming and city.

The half hour I spent wandering around the vintage Collective Haus was delightful and entertaining. As soon as I entered the door a lovely sight of pretty feminine dresses met my eye. Looking up I saw vintage dresses from time gone by strung from a tongue and groove ceiling. No dress up there as in easy reach for an interest girl to try on without some help to get down.

DB6F1AF9-374C-46B7-A131-AA93E3BB95D3_1_201_a.jpeg

Coloured dresses, blouses, pants and bags hung on racks ever so inviting to sift through, touch, take out, try on........ all so tempting.

39BF35D4-7E31-4307-B948-F3D7A590A148_1_201_a.jpeg

Rugs on the floor, hanging light shades of many different textures, colours and light expertly connected just right in the furniture section. Everything flowed harmoniously, feeling good, strolling taking in the wondrous sights of well preserved and cared for furniture. My eyes surveying the room full of beautiful chairs, coffee tables, plants, big leather lounge suites, lamps filled the room. So much on the floor, so busy, all pieces with a pricey price tag.

But, let me dream and see me choosing a big leather lounge, a coffee table, a side board in a pretend house. Oh another world of fun.


32E6F1F2-E315-4FA6-AF4E-9228935D9A46_1_201_a.jpeg

19ED239A-F053-468F-BAD2-B9FE3C403CBF_1_201_a.jpeg

To be totally honest I am happy with my furniture at home and do not want for any more, but I can see why anyone starting out new in a home might be attracted with this display of quality second hand bits and pieces. It would be as big a financial investment as a new furniture. I can imagine how hard it would be decide......... yes, no, let's think some more, we will come back.

The owner proudly boasted of a highly successful store in the upmarket beach suburb of Noosa on highly touristy end of the Sunshine Coast. I love seeing businesses succeeding and doing well.

I am so glad I checked out this funky high quality Collective Haus. It was worth going in and one day I might yet be back to buy for a friend or two who likes quirky. Perhaps a lamp, it is unique.

1A329B47-81A5-4C6D-A180-8728383EC908_1_201_a.jpeg

............................................................................

Thank you for joining me on my little sticky beak walk around the furniture and vintage clothes shop.
Wishing you well
Angie

85AA8DC2-B612-426C-8F54-1E350F9409F4_1_102_o.jpeg

PS: Yandina is a little quaint restored country town, very typical of Australian country towns that have been attracting tourists on weekends. Our Friday visit found the town to be extra quiet. Quiet is good!

10399625-CCF4-4D33-B471-8CB9A01B726B_1_105_c.jpeg

Sort:  

Oh, my! Hahah... I see what you mean by "a shop full of good taste and artistry."

The shop owners understands that anyone that wants to buy anything first need to be satisfied with what they are seeing. They did a good job of setting up the shop in a way that it draws people closer. Hehe.

Nice one right there.

They certainly have lots of selling skills @kenechukwu97, it was such a pleasant browse around the furniture.

How cool is this store… love stores like this. I could wander in it for a while.
Great you could resist your first urge to check it out and went to the other store first for the bird seed 😎
The furniture does look great.
Thanks for sharing your post @angiemitchell 😊👋🏻 Have a wonderful Friday!

isn't it wonderful to have such a store in a little bit of country. There are second hand stores and then then is this one.
I would love to see a big buy.
Good morning,💚 my Saturday is just starting.

Yes, it is wonderful to see in a little bit of country 🥰 they are special and stand out.
Here it just went past midnight, so theoretical also Saturday… but I will have to go to bed first 😉
Good morning to you dear @angiemitchell 👋🏻😊☀️ Enjoy your day!
!LUV

Hi Angie!
I don't want to have a new single piece of furniture or ornament in my house, hehe but I love this kind of shop and I could spend a long time in this one you are talking about just to browse and see beautiful things.
Have a lovely weekend!

Absolutely no more anything in my home either. When we first arrived here in 2015 I said just a few things on the wall, the precious stuff. But guess what, the reverse has taken place. My son who is a fabulously clever photographer has given me a few enlarged photos of animals - penguins and a spirit bear whom he mixed with in the Islands above British Colombia. And of course there are family photos on the wall and so on. Everything looks beautiful.
I have a little giggle at what I thought I wanted and what I got, hahaha.

Hi Angie!
Hehe!!! well, I would like my house to be minimalist and it is far from it. But it's ok if we don't have what we thought we wanted as far as we are satisfied with what we have, right? Happy week to you 🤗

And yes, so right. Of course I place my son's beautiful photos on the walls, they are so heartfelt warming to me. What one thinks one wants is not always right. Anyway a home is meant to be full of memories isn't it. Happy week to you too. 🧚🏼‍♀️

How fun this was! I like quirky little shops like this, I don't even need to buy, just looking is so much fun! I like how they decorated it also, are the rugs on the floor for sale? I have been in that kind of shop, it is like an Estate sale! Everything goes!

The dresses and such hanging off the ceiling are a nice touch, so feminine and lacey, a real delight to walk into. The fact that it is an old church enhances the entire scene.

How lucky to come upon this and thank you for sharing it with us!

Thank you for being a part of #MarketFriday! I cannot tell you how pleased I am to see so many participating every week. I have learned so much about the different cultures of the world, especially the small things that go unnoticed except by those looking for them. Life is interesting, wherever you are, whatever you are doing. I hope the week has found you healthy and happy, as we all look to prosper in our way of life.

Thank you for being a part of #MarketFriday! I cannot tell you how pleased I am to see so many participating every week. I have learned so much about the different cultures of the world, especially the small things that go unnoticed except by those looking for them. Life is interesting, wherever you are, whatever you are doing. I hope the week has found you healthy and happy, as we all look to prosper in our way of life.

#MarketFriday began as a way to reach out across the globe and learn about different cultures through their markets, especially local markets and farmers' markets, and eventually branched out and evolved over time from straight shopping to a cultural affair as it highlights how we differ and then again, how much we are alike. We have become a melting pot of culture, but, it is still the Rituals, Festivals, food, architecture, and even your language/languages that separate us... Along with the fact that is these things are normal for us. There are unwritten rules that rule our social behaviors. I see this as allowing for increased tolerance between cultures and nations, and opportunities to come together on an even playing ground. A strong culture can be beneficial to a country as it promotes unity, especially during a crisis, peaceful debate, and open dialogue. I have learned so much about all of you and it has been an amazing experience. I can only hope that learning about each other can help us work together for a peaceful world.

I confess that I visualised myself 12 inches taller trying on some of those pretty lacy dresses hanging from the rafters, fitting perfectly but alas the picture lasted only a moment until the reality of only 5 feet 3 inches took over. 😀

I am in awe of your everlasting positive energy overseeing trillions of #marketFriday posts. You are amazing Denise (@dswigle). xx

A quiet town but with interesting finds. I would be interested in some of those furniture I think :D

A very interesting place @leeart.

It truly is. I like how this has given livelihood to the locals.