You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Avonmore Boutique Hotel in Sydney

Hi @joanstewart, there must have been lots of parties and dances for 6 girls. But, what an amazing ritz of a life living in this house in the 1900's. But, they were bound by their father's rules I am sure.
I am one of 5 girls in the modern day. Poor dad though he tried! I vividly recall not wanting me to leave home to go to Brisbane for a gap year before going to College. I got my way. My mother was the encourager. Oh the memories Joan.

Sort:  

Our mum's realized change was coming, encouraged us to venture out before rushing into marriage. We were four, two boys then two girls, all treated equally with chores. Great years growing up that is for sure.

I am with you on this, it was a time that can never be repeated. Our childhood was perfect as there were 7 of us (2 brothers as well), so we were always playing games together. Yes, such wonderful happy memories.
My mum was a full time at home mum and regretted not having her own profession. Her message to us was to be professional with your own income. Such a wonderful role model and enabler.

My Mom went back to work when my little sister was around school going age.

Worked in offices prior to marriage, returned to bookkeeping positions which was frowned upon by many, she ignored them.

Always made it abundantly clear each individual has to take care of themselves and those around them, once each looked after the other life became a little easier.