You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: From the Paris Flower Market to Japanese Candlesticks charting

in Market Friday11 months ago

It's a great pleasure to hear everything you have to say. The city has indeed changed a lot and even though I live here full-time, I still try to keep the image I love of it!

Reading is an integral part of my life, and I don't think I'll ever be able to stop, but you've anticipated my reaction:

You'll probably say that can be fixed

I think it's possible to do that if you get the right kind of books, what were you reading at the time?

You've made me want to discover your country, and I'll be reading and dipping more in your articles from Monday onwards... since I'm leaving my computer for the weekend, precisely to wean myself off screens for a while :)

Thank you for you very kind words and energy here, take good care 🌱

Sort:  

I begin with apologies for the long overdue reply and with thanks, @anttn, for your kind comment.

My problem with reading is not due to choice or loss of interest in reading. I have a few books waiting. The problem is time, meaning more than that, my inability to manage time effectively plus the clutter that is now in my life. I have large backlogs of music I want to listen to, movies I want to see, and many others I won't name so as not to bore.

As for what I read. I read haphazardly, mostly from 1968 - 1982, then less and less as family and job obligations grew. What did I read? Teenage books, and to talk about the French... Jules Verne, Alexandre Dumas. I read a lot, and after you asked me, I realize that I have forgotten most of the books and writers, of course except for the important Romanian authors.
I can give an example of a book I really liked, I remember liking it a lot.
"The German Lesson" by Gunther Grass! Unfortunately, something is wrong, I looked in Grass's biography and can't find such a title. Maybe the translation in Romanian did not respect the name of the book or I do not remember ...
I can tell you that I remember a book that I liked very much in my adolescence and that I found now in an antique shop. I want to reread it, to see what I liked then. It's a book by a French writer...
Georges-Emmanuel Clancier - "L'Eternite plus un jour".

Oh, no problem really, I use to take even more time ! You're most welcome :)

I know exactly what you mean, even without too many obligations, I really have to get things off my chest to find the time to read. But even so, there are times when you do and times when you don't !

I've already heard of the French author you're talking about and of this title in particular, which makes me want to read it, even though I've just got into a fairly lengthy technical analysis book ^^

I hope you'll manage to catch up on all - or at least some - of the things you want to do that are on hold !

Have a good day ahead and take care dear @bluemoon 🌻

Thanks for understanding, I must say I expected you to react like that.

I'm glad you want to read the book, in fact talking to you makes me urgent to start reading it too!

I believe that eventually, the time will come to catch up on the backlog... if I live long enough, haha. I sincerely hope to hear us here for many more years, thank you very much, and have a nice weekend. I'll try to have a weekend without the internet too...

With pleasure, I always like to hear and understand things with more nuance than clear-cut opinions. I hope too that we'll have the occasion to join and discuss here on Hive for many coming years :)

I will go to a second hand bookshop today and I will definitely search for it, will let you know if I find it !

This weekend too, I'll leave my computer at home for two long days in the countryside. I wish you a good Friday and weekend in advance 🌻 Take good care

Thank you! I too like nuance and never definitive answers and people who think they know everything and nothing is yet to be proven.
You go to a second-hand bookshop to look for that book, I don't need to, I need time because I want to read some of your older posts about Paris but also about the extraordinary nature you often talk about.

Thank you so much for your interest 😇 ! I have to say that I was very surprised, but they didn't find it in the two bookshops where I usually shop... but that's only a postponement !

Have a good start to the week 🌱

Thank you! As it is in life, this week has come with its bad as well as its good. I hope the good stays. I especially hope you find the book. In Bucharest there are a few bookshops online, you place an order and the moment they find the book, they let you know. That's how I found the book.

I wish the rest of the week to be to your liking!