You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Market Friday goes House Hunting

in Market Friday2 years ago

Wow! I mean really. Wow. Real estate people over use that word something awful but Wow fits this house.

From my perspective, the road comes first. A well designed gravel road is fine though I'd prefer paved (it's a motorcycle thing). Motorcycles operate on an impossibly small patch of tire (and only two) so loose stones and gravel are bad news, especially down hill (where you have to apply brakes).

But wow. What a place and with property and opportunity-Fauna and flora is impressive, I'll bet.

Secret doors? Sign me up. An elevator? Holy cow! That basement? If it were me I'd try to pitch the owners to let me clean it up. They could just walk away from all that 'junk'. I might go weeks without going outside!

I once owned a 4 level house. No elevator. The 'attic' was a glorious open space only accessible by an impossibly narrow and steep set of stairs. I loved to go there to be completely alone.

Anyway, before I write a post of my own here. Thank you for taking us along. A really pleasant and unexpected surprise today! Good luck on the bidding.

Sort:  

The house wowed me, Tom! @bigtom13

I can see where you are coming from, on the road. If I were on a bike, of the pedal sort, I would feel the same. The practicality of a gravel road around here for the weather they get maybe? The man was frugal, but not cheap so I don't think it has to do with cost, although maintaining a paved road would be expensive and more prone to erosion. I have to agree, it would have to be paved if I were to get a bike. :)

The gardens his wife planted were still being maintained and if it were to be mine, I would scatter daffodils and bluebells in the woods. There is nothing quite as beautiful as color peeking through the woods/forest. You know I just love the thoughts of flowers running through the property.

The secret door blew me away. Even in the hallway, across from the elevator, there was one. It was a cavern and all the cleaning appliances were in there, with room to spare! Vacuums, floor buffers, and all the cleaners. The best secret room was up in the Master Bedroom. You open up the door and there is a whole room to put your important papers, guns (if you have them), and personal things. Super cool.

Your attic sounds like most of the older homes. I had one like that growing up and it was my father's place, as was the cellar. He never minded how difficult it was, it was his peace and quiet. :) Remember, he had 9 kids.

They may leave the pieces in the basement. The basement, I just looked at the county papers online for how the land is laid, but, the basement is 2,000 square feet of five different rooms, all with a purpose. The man was a genius. I think they may leave what is left as they took all of the good furniture and there is just basic trash furniture now. The attic has a ladder that went up to the roof, and yes, there was a hatch. (It locked, I made sure!) It opened up to the roof, which had a flat piece of metal so you could walk without a problem on the roof. Also, you could sweep the two chimneys without a problem. Who does that? Here is another room in the basement. Just for you. They were all like this. :)

#MarketFriday loves you!

image (32).jpeg

I don't know if I'd ever make it to the attic if I had 5 rooms like that in the basement. Yes, I expanded those two photos and here's what I know.

He had a dog named Pixie-and thought enough of the dog to keep his 'name plate' (probably from the dog house) through the years. He may have been frugal but isn't tight. I have the same desk lamp as his. When he bought stuff, he bought good stuff. That drafting table is far and away better than any one I have ever put my hands on. Lower center of the last picture is a fitted drain piece (copper) that is undoubtedly a spare for the house system. Copper would be first class...

I'm thinking he worked for or did work for ATT/Bell Labs. He has an oscilloscope in his home work space-he probably worked with delicate circuitry at the early end of the industry. Not too many oscilloscopes around today because most circuitry is component business and the performance of each piece well known. He had a high end, variable soldering iron with 3 kinds of solder and 5 fluxes visible.

Oh, and I was reminded to buy some 80w Gear Oil for when I service my motorcycle.

Having a gravel road would require a little maintenance but looks really appropriate to the property. A paved driveway might invite 'lookie lous' and worse.

You should have been there in person! I will have to post the other pictures. The drains are all copper, as is around the chimneys, I believe. He has spares for all the obvious (in case of breakage) Unbelievably smart man. He has a few Pixie memoirs, including a painting in the sitting room, and dog tags. Everything he bought was first class, including the elevator, which was Otis. It's funny as the house isn't ostentatious, but, everything is well built and will last. He did work for ATT/Bell Labs as you can see from the paperwork, patents, and other contracting work. I didn't not much about the soldering iron as I don't know much about them. Believe it or not, his hand was still in the work field up until 2014 or 2015, isn't that amazing? He still had patents being approved in 2017.

It is a peaceful town and the house is not visible enough to make a splash on the street, but, yes. I like the fact that it is quiet and not shouting out to lookie lous! :)

Thanks always, Tom!