You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Byrd's Bakery: One Cookie at a Time

in Market Fridaylast year (edited)

I love cookies and would love to be able to buy from this store! I'd search all the jars... I'm glad you did it for us, thank you. Charleston seems like a quiet town. In the interior shot, looking through the window, there is the street, sidewalk, passers-by, and cars. It reminds me of many American movies, where a quarter of the time we see a pleasant, calm, warm atmosphere... Unfortunately, in many of these films, suddenly, something awful happens and is in total antithesis to the beginning. Stories, of course, but not at Christmas...

People are nice, but I find that generally, people ARE nice.

Do you mean Charlestonians or people in general?
Unfortunately for me, I can't see them all being nice. You can, your perception is greatly influenced by the approach of Christmas when all people should be nice. It's nice to be able to see the world in holiday colors and have that quiet and acceptance and desire to be that way.

I have to say that reading your Christmas stories makes me feel better too and hope that it will be better, I walk on your hand, to use an expression that I don't know has the same meaning in English.

Thank you, Denise, for making us better!

P.S. In the meantime I managed to finish posting, Sometimes beauty gathers in small places

Sort:  

Somehow, I thought it would be Magda that loved cookies. :) Of course, I am kidding. Who doesn't love cookies? I love their size! Tiny enough to indulge without it hurting the waistline and good enough to eat a bagful. Charleston can be a quiet place although it was an early morning for a lot of the shots, or I avoided people in the shots. Most people walk around if they see people taking pictures.

There are many things to do in town, including museums, they have many markets which are interesting, but, the City Market is basically a historic market complex in downtown Charleston, South Carolina. From the 1790s, the market is about four city blocks. That is always enough to keep most people busy, but, I really like just strolling and taking in the history.

Outside of the hustle of the bigger cities, where it is business as usual, most places seem generally kind and even happy. I choose to see the best because a world without love or at least peace of heart is not a place that I want my kids or someday my grandchildren to grow up in. I hope in choosing to see the best, it may encourage some to show off their best. I like the expression "walk on your hand" and I can guess what it means, but, I have been caught guessing wrong sometime. :) Tell me, so I can put that one in my brain.

I love foreign expressions. I learned many growing up with my Italian Godparents. Se io perdo le staffe, tu perdi la testa. My Godfather, Rocco, would use that with his sons sometimes. It means "to lose the stirrups" (when a person loses their temper) There are so many more, but, they are interesting!

I am running behind again, but, I promise to get better! Thank you so much, Dan! @bluemoon I hope you are having a great day! Thank you for being part of #MarketFriday!

Have a joyful weekend!

Magda prefers more profiteroles and ice cream, I like to munch on cookies.
This town looks like you, that's my impression. Tell me please, do you have a house in Charleston or are you planning to move there, here I don't quite understand.

"Walk on your hand" means "I trust you" or "I do something like you do", the general meaning is trust.

Your Godfather, Rocco, ... makes me think of Marlon Brando!

I know you have a lot of catching up to do and that you're behind, there's a lot on your plate right now. Take my advice for once... comment and answer more concisely, I think you can with just two or three sentences. You'll see how much time you'll save! I know you won't, but I don't know how else I can help you.

Wishing you many joys and pleasant things that make life easier. Have a nice weekend, Denise!

Oh, the cream puff with ice cream! I am used to seeing them with the pastry cream, and both are sinful. :)

I do not have a house in Charleston, Surprised? I was out of the country and came back via Charleston. I lived in South Carolina for a little over a year when I was younger, I went to the University there for a few classes.

I like that saying! "Walk on your hand" and you just made my day! :) Thank you. I am going to get a little more concise this week. I must. I am so behind, but, I am sure people are already disappointed in me for not being able to answer their posts the last few weeks. I did say it was on vacation as I knew I would be able to do it. I guess I will see how it rolls out.

Thanks always, Dan! @bluemoon

I hope you have a beautiful Sunday!

Well, what to say? People get upset, some people don't care and everyone forgets and moves on. I tell you from my own experience..., I've gotten angry many times, but that doesn't change anything, I've learned that, so let's just let things be. Let it be, huh?

I hope you had time for a little relaxation too! I'm so shallow that I can't remember the time difference between our places, so I don't know if you still have Sunday now or if it's just starting...
Anyway, have a wonderful Sunday!

You are 7 hours ahead of me. It is almost noon here.

I know there will be some unhappy people, but, life first. It cannot be any other way. Did I tell you I just discovered I made Orca? I didnt know the number needed. Who knew we would actually grow !!?

I did relax for a couple days, but I live being in the thick of Christmas, so I am glad to be back. Thank you always, Dan!! @bluemoon

Happy Sunday!

Thank you! It's clear and easy to remember from now on, I'm 7 hours ahead...
You're Orca, my congratulations! You deserve it! I'm glad and expect even more from you, I always wanted to be friends with a whale, haha...

Happy Sunday!

Haha! Thank you, but that will be never. I am not that ambitious! :))

Seven hours ahead , so I am signing off and you are having coffee.

Good morning!