Bought some of "tomorrows" for only 8$! πŸ‘©β€πŸŒΎ

in Market Friday β€’ last year

The cost of onions which is almost 3x the price of a chicken in my country has greatly surprised us consumers, especially me, a first-time mother who is learning to budget our daily foods and meals. These high energy prices made me think that it would be wiser to have my own garden in order to save some pennies and serve healthy food on the table every day, and besides, we have a small space lot in our backyard at home, so a garden is a GO.

The idea of this "small garden" has been on my mind for a couple of weeks now. I was arranging my schedule for this and at the same time searching for the right planting resources (I was torn between buying seeds or the ready-to-transplant seedlings) to get it done just one time. Thankfully, we saw this small-scale transplant vegetable grower along the streets that made me choose to have the latter- buying vegetable transplants.

IMG_20230106_153834.jpg

This small-scale garden was easy to spot, it's just that, I didn't pay attention to this one every time we pass the street. Well, thanks to the spike in the prices, here we are now, exploring this little garden and checking what vegetables we could buy so we could save in the coming days.

IMG_20230106_153937.jpg

For the whole time, we thought that this garden only sells ornamental plants and fiber & clay pots as these have been always displayed outside the garden. Little did we know, that it has a small vegetable garden at the back too!

IMG_20230106_090626.jpg

My mother saw these seedlings on the streets so we hurriedly parked and inquire inside about the vegetables.

When we learned that those transplants are for sale, we asked if they had other vegetable transplants aside from the displays. The gardener happily showed us his humble garden full of newly grown seedlings.

IMG_20230106_154308.jpg

IMG_20230106_154320.jpg

IMG_20230106_090737.jpg

Various healthy vegetables greeted our eyes. There are tomatoes, pepper, eggplants, papayas, cabbages and so many more in different sizes. Some were newly planted, while others are ready for transplanting.

IMG_20230106_154256.jpg

Some of the seedlings are planted in individual pots, while others are in big containers. I was imagining buying all of those.

IMG_20230106_090820.jpg

The small ones or the younger ones are still in big pots and containers waiting to be transferred to their pots. But before that, they should be pricked out first.

IMG_20230106_090759.jpg

IMG_20230106_090834.jpg

These healthy cabbages look attractive.

IMG_20230106_090857.jpg

There are also spring onions but I wonder why are they not so healthy. Though I was looking for onions, I didn't buy these because I have plenty of them in my school garden. hehe

IMG_20230106_090847.jpg

IMG_20230106_090908.jpg

Going on, I was amazed at how the gardener made this simple greenhouse for his plants. I was thinking of maybe making like this too at home. Let's see.

Time to buy!

The vegetables are not just healthy but they come at a very low price too. At first, we only plan to buy 5 transplants of each kind we liked, but we ended up buying more!

IMG_20230106_153908.jpg

IMG_20230106_154118.jpg

IMG_20230106_154051.jpg

We bought a couple of papaya transplants, a bunch of eggplant seedlings, and tomatoes.

VegetablesQuantityAmount
Eggplants20 seedlings10php/0.18USD
Tomato6 seedlings10php/0.18USD
Papaya6 seedlings30php/0.55USD

We paid 440Php (8.01USD) in all.

IMG_20230106_154106.jpg

IMG_20230106_154132.jpg

I was happy and fulfilled with our purchase. Although 440.00 pesos is a little expensive for me, I believe that growing my vegetables will actually save me a lot of money on groceries in the long run. And the BONUS thing there is, we will be eating healthy and fresh produce every day!

After we purchased them, I was very excited to plant them in our garden. It's been a while since I had my last garden, and I just miss having it again. I am a firm believer in the saying that goes "Gardening adds years to your life and life to your years".


On our way out, I also took a picture of the ornamental plant's display. Who knows I'll be buying a few of them too someday.

IMG_20230106_090956.jpg

IMG_20230106_091137.jpg

The lovely ornamental plants in different species.

IMG_20230106_153956.jpg

IMG_20230106_153858.jpg

Aren't these pots beautiful and creatively done? It has a lot of designs!

IMG_20230106_154244.jpg

β€œTo plant a garden is to believe in tomorrow.” – Audrey Hepburn

As I will plant these vegetables I brought, these will be planted with care and hope. A hope that these will grow and feed not just my family but also my neighbors who need them.

And as I take care of this every day, this will make me look forward to beautiful tomorrows. A beautiful tomorrow of fresh and healthy produce on my table and a tomorrow that will remind me of my wise investment today.

IMG_20230106_154212.jpg

That's it for my #FridayMarket story initiated by the lovely @dswigle guys. I hope you enjoyed it too. Keep safe and healthy always everyone!

Sort: Β 

Wow ! Commodities nowadays are increasing. So having a garden is a big help..save our budget. Congrats on a new start in your garden, for sure your bountiful harvest is weaving.

Thanks, Ma'am Haidz hope all of these will grow and bear an abundance of fruits. Everything is getting expensive, and having a garden is I think an investment. πŸ˜„

Wow that's a lot! Good thing you have space in your yard for gardening. You can save more when you harvest soon.

Yeah, it really is a lot! Aside from that I could enjoy my time in the garden, I could save some money, and eat fresh vegetables! Hopefully, all these seedlings will grow successfully and healthily.

Β last yearΒ (edited)Β 

True. It will, you're good at it man,hehehe

Nindot jud ug naay kaugalingon tinanom. Lami sa feeling ug mkaharvest na. Makasave pa jid

Kaayo Maam. Sobra pa sa save nya makatilaw sad ang silingan. Nya save jd kaau, mka-tabang2x jd sa budget.

I miss how I always struggle to find time just to water our vegetable garden before HAHA.... Having a vegetable garden saves a lot of πŸ’΅ the same time you will always have a fresh vegies.

I remember we have a vegetable garden before and we grew a lot of tomatoes, so when the harvest season came we had a lot of tomatoes everyday 🀣...

Haha. Though you struggled to water your plants, but I think You had a bounty of harvest there! Did you sell the tomatoes or did the family consume them for daily use?

Hi @callmesmile, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rem-steem!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

Oh 😍thank you @bdcommunity and @rem-steem ! Blessing to the team!

Β last yearΒ (edited)Β 

Amazing! I admire this change of mind and heart. Truly, it is better to have our own vegetable garden at home. Soon enough, you'll be amaze with the ROI of your 440 pesos. Keep going @callmesmile .Salute!

I think I'll have a 10x return on my investment Maam. hehe.πŸ˜ƒ Health alone is priceless.😎


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @ladytitan ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Please drop your link in my #MarketFriday comment section.

Basin naa tay pang tree planting diri mam Smile. Haha
Kanindot sa seedlings ai.
It's a good idea if you have your garden at home. You can save more and spend less. ☺️

Papaya rjuy available Maam Ler ay.. haha.

Ahahahaha