It's MarketFriday on Hive: My Shopping Experience In Accra-Ghana

in Market Friday2 years ago (edited)

png_20220506_212400_0000.png

Hello everyone, I hope you are doing great and happy. Every Friday is exciting on Hive as we get the chance to share our market experiences with @dswigle #MarketFriday. I believe that this gives us the opportunity to share not just our content but also our personal experiences.

The Market Experience At Melcom-Achimota Branch, Accra

I have already shared about my shopping experience in Melcom, Kumasi branch and today I share with you another shopping I made this week at Melcom, Achimota, Accra. It is one of my favorite places to shop, and even if I only need a few products, I will stop by any of their centres wherever I am.

IMG_20220505_161143.jpg

Melcom, as a big business, has branches all across the country and is where a lot of people shop in Ghana, which is why they have the motto "Melcom, where Ghana shops., where Ghana shops. In any of their shops you are likely to lay your hands on any product that you will need for your use.

Their business sells both imported and locally made goods, with the latter being the more popular. It could be one of the reasons why people who could acquire a foreign goods online prefer to get it from Melcom to save money on shipping..
Melcom Achimota isn't far from where I work, so I stopped by in the afternoon on my way home to pick up some body lotion, deodorant, and tooth paste. With the body lotion and deodorant, I went with Nivea(body lotion-¢22.49/4Hive), Nivea Roll-on(¢13.99/2.49Hive) and with the tooth paste, I went with Colgate(¢12.99/2.31Hive). The two brands (Nivea and Colgate) have proven to be quite good over time and have maintained their credibility. I love Nivea products and have complete trust in the brand.

IMG_20220505_171053.jpg

Nivea products are popular among many individuals, including myself, and you can purchase them at almost any store in Ghana. This Melcom has a large area dedicated to all of their products, including body lotion, hair cream, deodorants, and face cleansers. It can be difficult to choose a body lotion because of the many skin colors and how producers try to accommodate everyone with a lotion that is suitable for them.

IMG_20220505_172123.jpg

I had previously tried their cocoa butter lotion, which was wonderful, but I wanted to try something else this time. The shop's cosmetologist recommended that I try "all skin types", so I chose one. After that, I used Nivea men's deodorant "black and white" and Colgate toothpaste. They will suffice for me because I will be alone in Accra.

I also decided to take a tour of the stores to see what they had to offer. The shop is truly loaded with appealing items that easily entice one to purchase. Example was this massive Samsung QLED TV, which cost ¢12, 999, a powerful system that provides a pleasant viewing experience.

IMG_20220505_165117.jpg

IMG_20220505_170020.jpg

IMG_20220505_165204.jpg

IMG_20220505_161529.jpg

There were many rice cookers from various manufacturers, with Binatone being the most popular. Binatone has worked hard over the years to obtain a good reputation and to have the majority of their products sold in Ghana. I examined the rice cookers on purpose because I'll be replacing the one I'm using soon.

This retail store provides everything from electronics to furnishings to snacks and beverages. I opted to make payment and leave after a quick tour of the various floors. I made the purchase using my mobile money wallet, which took some minutes.

How I wish that a lot of business are into crypto and trading transacting using Hive which will they will enjoy faster and feeless transaction processing.

Many people are concerned about seeing numerous deductions on payment receipts when shopping at large malls, causing them to pay more than the actual cost of the items. I believe this is one of the reasons why some people prefer to buy at local markets instead of major malls for the same or similar items.

In all, the little time I spent there was just refreshing and a nice one for me. I wouldn't mind for another shopping next week if I have the time just like it always a nice time on Fridays, to share with you. Thanks for reading.



I would appreciate it if you could take a look at our PROPOSAL for Hive Borehole Construction in Ghanaian Villages, a project to help solve water crisis. It's a great way of reaching out to many with the power of Hive and also a marketing effort to make Hive a household name. Thanks for the support.



23tmevZWMhchtBsod1PgadF28K2RxdXYvW2zRtHJTvFV3yV2Ah6tXH8swfwcm54ue93QL.png

Sort:  

You did an excellent job of providing us with scenes from Melcome Ghana. Chaley, thank you for your contribution today.

You are welcome

Many people are concerned about seeing numerous deductions on payment receipts when shopping at large malls, causing them to pay more than the actual cost of the items. I believe this is one of the reasons why some people prefer to buy at local markets instead of major malls for the same or similar items.

This aspect is very interesting, because in my country (Hungary) the situation is the opposite. The imported foods in the supermarkets and in the hypermarkets are cheapers than the local food. And most people buy imported foods, instead of buying locally grown food, because that is more expensive for some reason.

Have a nice day and have a nice weekend.
All the best. Greetings and much love from Hungary.

Good to know the market situation in Hungary. In Ghana, some imported foods especially fruits, rice, vegetables etc are very expensive as compared to the local ones. Also with our local food products, it depends on the type of market where you are buying from; some can be expensive and some cheaper across markets. What I try to say was that of the number of taxes(deductions or charges) you would have to incur when you buy from supermarkets often compel you to pay more than the actual cost of the products you buy. In the local markets you will likely excape some of these charges or deductions. Check the receipt of the things I bought below: the basic amount without the charges is ¢41.48 cedis but ended up paying ¢49.47 cedis, paying for govt charges of ¢7.99 which I would have escaped some if I bought from the local vendors.

Loading...