It's Market Friday On Hive: How I Spent $10 in the Market

in Market Friday2 years ago (edited)

IMG_20220601_120326.jpg

Another week is coming to a close with one of Hive's most exciting activities, @dswigle's MarketFriday. This week, we're doing something special with how we spend $10, just to spice things up for #MarketFriday. This week's submissions will undoubtedly be intriguing, and we will likely learn more about how we may plan and make good use of our budgets.

My visit To Melcom

This week I had a great time at Melcom, Accra, and of all the times I've been to this shopping mall, this was the one I that really liked every minute of the shopping; I made acquaintances. Melcom takes pride in being one of the largest shopping malls and the place where many Ghanaians shop. I had some free time on Thursday and decided to visit their premises in Achimota Accra, where I knew I would get all the things I needed.

IMG_20220601_122752.jpg

How I Spent $10 in the shopping Mall

This week, I planned to purchase items that I required for my own usage while staying within my $10 budget. Melcom creates such a pleasant environment that you will want to shop there all of the time, and the good news is that you can get everything you need in one spot.

For a brother who is visiting me in Accra, I chose Indomie Relish Chicken Delight noodles for him to try. Over the course of the week, he came to see me. This noodles are tasty; I wanted two at first, but I just got one since I wanted him to try before I got some more. Perhaps, I'll get extra because he really enjoyed it.

IMG_20220601_113838.jpg

IMG_20220601_113858.jpg

Relish Chicken Delight noodles(¢12.89/$1.56)

The second item was my Nestlé Nido, I prefer this powdered milk due to its nutritional contents.It can also last longer and is beneficial to one's health because they include food nutrients such as vitamins and calcium.

IMG_20220601_114344.jpg

IMG_20220601_114412.jpg

Nestlé Nido (¢47.99/$6.13)

I've been a fan of Sairo's products since I first tried them, and their shower gel has piqued my interest. After you've showered, it leaves behind a great fragrance on your body and it's good for my skin too. I got two of them last month, one of aloe vera and the other of coconut sensation, and I needed to get another because they are almost finished.

IMG_20220601_113504.jpg

IMG_20220601_113521.jpg

Sairo Shower Gel (¢15.99/$2.04)

I took few minutes to pick these products rather than wandering around as I would in a new store. I often buy from Melcom's Achimota branch, and I believe that if I close my eyes, I can still lead anyone to where to find a particular product in the store, unless they had done a new arrangement.

IMG_20220601_121658.jpg

Just as I was about to walk up to the counter to make payment, I ran into two young guys who were undertaking a promotion dubbed "SWAP and CHILL" on behalf of Guinness Ghana Limited.

IMG_20220601_114539.jpg

This is about exchanging your used Guinness, ABC Club Beer, Malta Guinness bottles and crates for a voucher. Fans of these beverages who have what they require can to win cash prizes. @dswigle, I think it would be really interesting if we could share any ongoing discount sales from our markets in future #MarketFriday.

IMG_20220601_121911_1.jpg

Making Payment

The three products I chose cost ¢76.87/$9.82. I knew I'd have to pay more because of the VAT and National Health Insurance taxes that apply to goods and services in Ghana. Before going out, I never realized I didn't have enough cash in my wallet. Why would I bother to check when Ghana is moving to a cashless society, which most people are already accustomed to, I even wish many businesses were on Hive because payment would have been a lot easier.

I ended up paying ¢80/$10.22, an extra amount paid was the tax deductions. It's always advisable to take extra amount with you when buying from these shops as you will end up paying more than you bought. The funniest thing that ever happened to me in one of my shoppings was when I had picked more products than I could afford to pay, my mistake was that I never checked the price tags and didn't consider the tax deductions too. I informed the cashier I needed to drop off some products since I had not enough cash on me.

Planning is always a wonderful approach to ensure that you are always prepared for anything comes your way. I'm pleased with how this one turned out, and I'm excited to share it with everyone. I'm not sure what next week holds, but I willl be happy to share my experiences whenever I get the chance. Have a fantastic weekend.

Sort:  
Loading...

I like how well stocked this supermarket is and with high quality products. It seems to me that you made a good purchase. Powdered milk is expensive anywhere in the world. The nido milk is divine. I used to drink it when I was a child. It's a good promotion to exchange the malt bottles. A great way to collect the bottles and encourage the consumption of your product. Greetings

Melcom is indeed a beautiful shop and they have several promotions every week, I guess the SWAP N WIN will indeed be a great promotion. Thanks for ur nice comment and for stopping by. Regards

Money well spent..indeed I’m a living testimony to this same thing…is rather unfortunate how prices are shooting up in that manner…now to even trim your hair is a problem 🥹🥹🥹

Goods prices will continue to rise, the market appears to be unpredictable at the moment, and we can only hope that everything will return to normal soon. Meanwhile, always set a budget for what you want to acquire, especially for the amount of time you will need them; this will save you from incurring additional costs.

Wow..I love shopping too and next Friday I will also write about my shopping experience

It's good to know that you love shopping and I will be waiting for your submission next week. Thanks for stopping by

Oh, in your country you have to be really careful with such additional tax payments. to tell the truth it is not very convenient. much easier when all these taxes are prepaid in the price of goods. then it is easier to plan purchases according to the budget. but of course we - ordinary people - can not change anything in this

The national health insurance levy may be difficult to avoid, but citizens are well aware of how much it contributes to healthcare, therefore I don't believe it is a major concern.

Great shop @collinz 😁
Yep it is advisable to have a little extra when shopping.
Didn’t know you paid national health insurance taxes on goods. Thanks for letting us know. Very interesting to hear and to compare what you can buy with 10 dollars.
Enjoy your weekend!

In Ghana the National Health Insurance is funded through taxes and that's what keeps it going. Thanks for stopping by and do have a great weekend

Very interesting. Learned something new.
You are welcome 😁
Thank you kindly 👋🏻☀️Enjoy yours!

I hear, thanks

looks like you really enjoyed going to that mall and now I envy how you know every detail of the shop hahaha I'm not a mall person and I only go there unless I needed something.

Have a great weekend collins

I work close to the mall and the reason I go there often even if it's just a single product that I need. And of course I know every nook and cranny of the shop😀, enjoy your weekend dear

hahahah that is why :)

You spent wisely here bro. Thanks for sharing this.

Yes, that's all it takes to make good use of any amount of money, spending wisely.